Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Network status shows No Internet

  1. #1
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default Network status shows No Internet

    Im running Windows7 and shortly after installing the Parallels Internet Security 2009 by Kaspersky, my network status indicator on the task bar near the clock shows No Internet connection. However, the internet is fine. I opened the Network and Sharing on the control panel and the Internet connection indicator also shows that I have no Internet connection, although in the fact I do.

    Can anyone shed some light on this? Is there a setting in the Kaspersky IS that I am not setting properly? Workwise, it's affecting my Parallel desktop, it's just annoying to have that false indicator.

    Tav



  2. #2
    Parallels Developers Elric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TavM View Post
    Im running Windows7 and shortly after installing the Parallels Internet Security 2009 by Kaspersky, my network status indicator on the task bar near the clock shows No Internet connection. However, the internet is fine. I opened the Network and Sharing on the control panel and the Internet connection indicator also shows that I have no Internet connection, although in the fact I do.

    Can anyone shed some light on this? Is there a setting in the Kaspersky IS that I am not setting properly? Workwise, it's affecting my Parallel desktop, it's just annoying to have that false indicator.

    Tav
    Unfortunately, it is an issue of "Internet Security 2009" and Windows 7.

    This warning is quite safe and doesn't affect anything. You can either ignore it or use "Internet Security 2010" (I don't though how to get it)



  3. #3
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Elric View Post
    Unfortunately, it is an issue of "Internet Security 2009" and Windows 7.

    This warning is quite safe and doesn't affect anything. You can either ignore it or use "Internet Security 2010" (I don't though how to get it)
    You have a Parallels logo in your information, so I assume you talk for Parallels, or in the name of P.
    You state the obvious (we knew this already) AND the solution, Internet Security 2010 (from Kaspersky Labs I presume ???)
    Doesn't Parallels and Kaspersky have a partnership ?
    Why does a Parallels employee not have the solution available to us ?
    Please tell us where Internet Security 2010 is ????
    It will make trouble shooting a lot easier !!!
    Thanks,
    H.



  4. #4
    Parallels Developers Elric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hmolen View Post
    You have a Parallels logo in your information, so I assume you talk for Parallels, or in the name of P.
    You state the obvious (we knew this already) AND the solution, Internet Security 2010 (from Kaspersky Labs I presume ???)
    Actually, forums are not official support resource. Of course I have some limitations in what I'm saying here and may not speak things that may cause harm to people asking for support or impact reputation of Parallels - standard corporative ethic. But there is a lot of things that I'm not aware of.
    Last edited by Elric; Mar 20, 2010 at 08:23 AM.



  5. #5
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Eric,

    Appreciate the quick reply. I guess I'll have to live with it until the next update. I recently just did one (update) and that wasn't pretty. It almost choked during the re-install of the Parallel tools, but survived and I got my desktop back... anyway, that's for another thread issue. If you anyone else can figure this out, besides updating to the 2010 version (which Im not willing to pay), please let me know. In fact, I migrated from VMWare Fusion and the McAfee IS included with that virtual machine stayed installed and worked just fine, until the Kaspersky IS prompted an install. Anyway, I hope this helps others to figure this out.. Many thanks, Tav



  6. #6
    Parallels Developers Elric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    TavM, take alook at forum's private messages - I've sent a message

    hmolen, I'll try to get some understanding of suggested scenario with InternetSecurity 2009 in the nearest time.



  7. #7
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Thanks, sorry for my outburst, I just want to have the solution (version 2010) and have opened cases for this but they don't want to help me as "I have no problem"....
    I can access the internet but I want to get rid of the annoying icon, and details that tell me that I have no connectivity :(
    That's all.
    H.



  8. #8
    Parallels Developers Elric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hmolen View Post
    Thanks, sorry for my outburst, I just want to have the solution (version 2010) and have opened cases for this but they don't want to help me as "I have no problem"....
    I can access the internet but I want to get rid of the annoying icon, and details that tell me that I have no connectivity :(
    That's all.
    H.
    I've asked the person who knows about ParallelsInternetSecurity(Kaspersky). As I understood from his explanations, the only way is to buy Kaspersky 2010 separately. I'm now sure, but it seems that upgrade from ParallelsInternetSecurity 2009 to Kaspersky 2010 is not possible, because version shipped with Parallels is considered to be one-year trial:
    http://forum.kaspersky.com/lofiversi...p/t162091.html

    Alternatively, it is possible to either try Microsof Security Essentials (it is free) -http://www.microsoft.com/Security_Essentials/

    or just disable this icon - (steps taken from http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...17(WS.10).aspx ):
    1. For best results, close all programs on the computer on which you are changing the registry setting.

    2. To open a command prompt as an administrator, click Start, point to All Programs, click Accessories, right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator.

    3. If the User Account Control dialog box appears, confirm that the action it displays is what you want, and then click Continue.

    4. Type: regedit.

    5. Navigate to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\NlaSvc\Parameters\Internet

    6. Under the Internet key, double-click EnableActiveProbing, and then in Value data, type: 0 (NOTE: The default value for this is 1. Setting the value to 0 prevents NCSI from connecting to a site on the Internet during checks for connectivity.)

    7. Click on OK.

    8. Restart the computer.



  9. #9
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    59

    Default Fix

    Ok, thanks for the help, but when will this be fixed ?



  10. #10
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    13

    Default

    I've removed Parallels Internet Security Suite (fondly referred to as PISS) and installed the MS Security Essentials. This "fixed" the annoying false positive that the Internet was not available. Unfortunately the MSE tool does not seem as robust as PISS but I'm also not getting any errors or other erroneous behavior. It may be worthwhile to add a sticky somewhere regarding this so new users know to use something other than PISS or live with the faulty behavior.



  11. #11
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default

    You have a Parallels logo in your information, so I assume you talk for Parallels, or in the name of P.
    You state the obvious (we knew this already) AND the solution, Internet Security 2010 (from Kaspersky Labs I presume ???)
    Doesn't Parallels and Kaspersky have a partnership ?
    Why does a Parallels employee not have the solution available to us ?
    Please tell us where Internet Security 2010 is ????
    It will make trouble shooting a lot easier !!!
    Thanks,
    H.
    http://www.y8.fm | http://www.ben10.fm | http://www.friv.gs | http://www.miniclip.fm



  12. #12

    Default

    i az imah podoben problem, no uspqh da go razre6a kato potarsih pomosht v edin drug forum.tova e nai-dobriq nachin da nauchish barzo i kachetsveno tova, koeto te interesuva



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •