Windows XP (1) (1) (1) displayed as VM name?

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by JoelW, Jun 22, 2010.

1. JoelW

JoelW Bit poster

Hi everyone,

I'm very, very green when it comes to using VMs so please excuse my ignorance on the matter.

I've been running Parallels 5 on my MBP for a couple of months now and when I opened the VM list the other day my original VM had a question mark where the 'On' button usually is and there was a new entry below it called 'Windows XP (1)'.

I ran 'Windows XP (1)' and it worked fine, but then yesterday I opened my VM list and it too had a question mark and there was ANOTHER entry called 'Windows XP (1) (1)'.

I ran that and it worked fine and then TODAY the same thing happened and now I have FOUR virtual machines on my list and it's only the last on the list that works i.e. 'Windows XP (1) (1) (1)'.

What does that actually mean? Is it creating it's own clones or something? I've looked through the forums and googled but because I don't know enough about VMs I'm finding it hard to know what to search for.

By the way, the computer hasn't been shifted or dropped and the HDD works fine/Mac OSX works fine. This MBP is only a couple of months old as well.

I apologise for my ignorance but I just don't know what I'm supposed to be searching for.

If any of you can point me to a thread on the problem I'd be very thankful.

Thanks for any help you can give!

-JW

2. JCE1

JCE1 Bit poster

Windows 7 (1) (1) (1) displayed as VM name?

Did anyone determine a solution to this problem? I am new to Parallels as well. I can get it to work. It runs great, but the same problem is occuring for me. Windows 7 (1) (1) (1) is being displayed as VM name? Thank you.

3. JoelW

JoelW Bit poster

Hi JCE1,

Don't hold your breath waiting for a solution on here. The Parallels forums aren't the best.

I called support and after trying a few things was told to do the following.

1. Open Parallels, but do not start the VM.