Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Anti-virus software

  1. #1

    Default Anti-virus software

    Should I be running anti-virus software on both OS's or do I just need to run it on one? I downloaded Norton Anti-virus for both Mac and Windows (free from my school) and I can not connect to the internet now through windows, but can still connect through os-x. Is there a setting I need to change? I went to network connections and it says "Local Area Connection: Limited or no connectivity, Parallels Network Adapter".


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.

  2. #2
    Tera Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,037

    Default

    .
    Just my opinion, but I would say uninstall Norton and install AVG. Download from http://free.grisoft.com.

    While you're there, get a copy of their free anti spyware as well.
    .



  3. #3
    Tera Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    490

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by constant
    .
    Just my opinion, but I would say uninstall Norton and install AVG. Download from http://free.grisoft.com.

    While you're there, get a copy of their free anti spyware as well.
    .
    Just my opinion -- and the experience of all of my users on "standard" Windows systems -- but I wouldn't trade Norton SystemWorks for any other system, paid or free. It works, works well and Norton's staff is there for support if needed.
    The Power of NeuroCARE
    www.zengar.com



  4. #4
    Tera Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Charlotte NC
    Posts
    536

    Default

    I have had really bad luck with Norton. I am currently a big AVG fan. Norton is bloatware.



  5. #5
    Tera Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    490

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Purplish
    I have had really bad luck with Norton. I am currently a big AVG fan. Norton is bloatware.
    I do understand that some also believe as you do but what I have found, FWIW, is that when NSW (not any other of the versions!) is correctly installed and configured it just works. And that's invaluable for me and the users of my software that I have to support.
    The Power of NeuroCARE
    www.zengar.com



  6. #6

    Default

    My question was whether I should be running antivirus software on each OS or is running it on OS-X adequate?



  7. #7
    Tera Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,037

    Default

    .
    Yes, running antivirus software is essential in any windwoes installation. As is anti spyware/adware/malware software.

    Install AVG antivirus, and antispyware.
    .



  8. #8
    Parallels Team parallels support's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by constant
    .
    Yes, running antivirus software is essential in any windwoes installation. As is anti spyware/adware/malware software.

    Install AVG antivirus, and antispyware.
    .

    I strongly agree that a Windows VM is just as susceptible to viruses, malware, spyware, etc as if it were on a physical PC. But whichever protection software you decide to use, one thing to keep in mind....it may need to be disabled temporarily to successfully load other software. Specifically, when upgrading your version of Parallels and then installing Parallels Tools, I frequently have to disable the resident virus scan software before the tools will install successfully.
    David Spackman
    Parallels Tech Support



  9. #9
    Tera Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ID
    Posts
    2,006

    Default

    I would say that if you are going to pick one operating system to run anti-virus on it should be the Windows side.

    Here are some basics of avoiding viruses:
    1. Use a router.
    2. Those e-mails that promise you things or request you to change you account info shouldn't be followed directly. If you think it is legit, go STRAIGHT to the companies web site. Any company with their head on straight will allow you to do the same thing via typing their web address in the address bar.
    3. Don't visit pr0n or similar sites or do downloads from sites you don't trust, or much MP3 sharing for that matter, these are sure ways of getting viruses.
    4. Don't use port forwarding to the outside world unless you need it.
    5. Turn off services like SSH, RDC, ARD, etc. unless you really need them.
    6. Run anti-virus and anti-spyware on your Windows machine.

    I don't run anti-virus on my Mac, I do check it every month or so. Sure, it MIGHT mitigate the risk, but I figure if a virus goes in the wild, then I'll just disconnect the computer from the internet, take down my home wireless and then boot the disc from an updated anti-virus CD as soon as the fixes are available.
    Parallels Service Partner
    Consulting Available - Contact me via e-mail for more details.

    Ardent Flame Designs
    http://www.ArdentFlameDesigns.com/

    The Grupp Law Firm, PLLC
    http://www.GruppLaw.com/

    XServe Xeon - 2x2 @ 2 GHz - 5 GB RAM - 750 GB 7200 RPM HD
    15" MacBook Pro - 2.33 GHz - 2 GB RAM - 120 GB HD - 256 MB Graphics



  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eru Ithildur
    ... I don't run anti-virus on my Mac, I do check it every month or so. Sure, it MIGHT mitigate the risk, but I figure if a virus goes in the wild, then I'll just disconnect the computer from the internet, take down my home wireless and then boot the disc from an updated anti-virus CD as soon as the fixes are available.
    How do you 'check' your Mac for viruses? And, could you say more about using "an updated anti-virus CD" to boot from the disc? I'm asking because I downloaded my Windows anti-virus via the Internet so I don't have a disc.

    Thanks.



  11. #11
    Tera Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ID
    Posts
    2,006

    Default

    To check my Mac? I just grab ClamXav when I need it and scan with that, booting as a target for a complete scan.
    If viruses started going out in the wild, I am sure that there would be an anti-virus program slapped together that would have the anti-virus software on a bootable CD.
    Parallels Service Partner
    Consulting Available - Contact me via e-mail for more details.

    Ardent Flame Designs
    http://www.ArdentFlameDesigns.com/

    The Grupp Law Firm, PLLC
    http://www.GruppLaw.com/

    XServe Xeon - 2x2 @ 2 GHz - 5 GB RAM - 750 GB 7200 RPM HD
    15" MacBook Pro - 2.33 GHz - 2 GB RAM - 120 GB HD - 256 MB Graphics



  12. #12
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    37

    Default Barrier x4 Dual Protection sharing connection ?

    I have always used Symmantec Nortons Antivirus on the Mac & have thought it was fabulous-no issues at all-ever.
    However, I did some research and this Barrier X4 read well so I have installed that as it protects both systems simultaneously.
    It works perfectly on the Mac side but currently windows is not protected. This is because I have no idea what I'm supposed to tick to share
    should it be firewire
    Intego Server is checked by default
    or should I check local or network folder ?
    see
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/httpwww...mphotoswattos/
    MAC OS 10.4.11
    2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2 GB RAM
    Parallels Desktop for Mac 3.0 Build 3214
    VM Windows XP Home



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •