Parallels 6 - Win 7 :: Fatal Error

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by j o e l, Dec 2, 2010.

1. j o e l

j o e l Bit poster

Hi,

I've been running Win 7 on Parallels Desktop 6 for Mac for a couple months without any major issues. Today, I was doing some work in Win 7 while listening to iTunes. I saw that some Adobe products on my Mac had updates available, so I started the update. After about 5 mins, the MacBook froze, repeating the same 1 sec clip in iTunes over and over. The entire MacBook was stuck in this state for quite some time. After about 5-10 mins, I saw no other option but to kill it and reboot.

Upon rebooting, I tried to start up the Win 7 vm again. An error pops up stating there was a fatal error. Following several articles online, I've not been able to get it start up again. I've noticed my MacBook's hdd is about 30 gb lighter than it should be - which is about what my vm's size was. I do see the .vpm still on my machine, and I see a list of all of the Win apps still in my ~/Applications/Windows 7 Applications/.

I've tried starting the vm using the Win 7 dvd to repair it, but that doesn't work, as it nothing is found to repair.

If I look at the .vpm in Finder and select "Show Package Contents" and do the same on the Windows 7-0.hdd, there is another Windows 7-0.hdd file, as well as 2 corresponding .hds files with differing alphanumeric names.

Somewhere along the way, I was able to find my bootmgr file, but when I open it in TextEdit, it appears to be empty. If I open the bootsect.bak file, I see the following embedded near the top of the file:

A disk read error occurred
    BOOTMGR is missing
    BOOTMGR is compressed
    Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

When I start the vm, this does not appear anywhere. The vm simply attempts to start, and then the standard error reporting takes over with a dialog to add comments and submit to Parallels (which I've done).