Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 74

Thread: Plesk Server Backup Script

  1. #1
    Parallels Team IgorG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    15,509

    Default Plesk Server Backup Script

    Plesk Service Team is pleased to announce Plesk Server Backup Script.
    Main goal of the script is to reduce disk space usage and memory consumption on backing up procedures, especially backing up to FTP repository.
    The script make backup dump of whole Plesk server and does implement per-domain backup algorithm.

    All details and scenarios are described in corresponding KB article - http://kb.parallels.com/en/113252

    Thank you for your cooperation!



  2. #2
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    121

    Default

    How does this differ from the normal pleskbackup process. Are there any specific advantages to use this over pleskbackup?



  3. #3
    Parallels Team IgorG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    15,509

    Default

    Customers complains that backup process consumes double diskspace against backup size after its creation. Main case is full server backup to FTP repository.
    This script implements per-domain backup procedure. Also script could resolve some issues with huge backups.



  4. #4
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    121

    Default

    Thanks for that.
    I take it this will eventually replace pleskbackup shipped with Plesk.



  5. #5
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    63

    Default

    If I would like to use this script instead, I should disable the backup in Plesk and set up a cronjob with the new script?



  6. #6
    Parallels Team IgorG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    15,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaizer View Post
    If I would like to use this script instead, I should disable the backup in Plesk and set up a cronjob with the new script?
    Yes, I think that you can use script in scenario described by you. You can try at least. Basically it was designed for manual using but I see no reason why this can not be used for cronjob.



  7. #7
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    63

    Default

    According the the KB, you run the script. But how do you set the parameters?
    I would like to run this script and place all files to an external FTP server.



  8. #8
    Parallels Team IgorG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    15,509

    Default

    What about described command
    # php -d safe_mode=0 <path_to>/fullbackup.php -b -o ftp://<login>:<password>@<server>/<output_dir>
    ?



  9. #9
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    65

    Default

    I get following error, when I try to create a backup:

    [root@WH33 ~]# php -d safe_mode=0 /root/fullbackup.php -b -o ftp://xxxxxx:xxxxxxx@xxxxx/backupwh33
    PHP Warning: fopen(): URL file-access is disabled in the server configuration in /root/fullbackup.php on line 105
    PHP Warning: fopen(ftp://...@xxxxxx/backupwh33/fullbackup_120222114057): failed to open stream: no suitable wrap
    per could be found in /root/fullbackup.php on line 105
    fopen(ftp://xxxxxx:xxxxxxx@xxxxx/backupwh3...p_120222114057) failed



  10. #10
    Parallels Team IgorG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    15,509

    Default

    PHP Warning: fopen(): URL file-access is disabled in the server configuration in /root/fullbackup.php on line 105
    Make sure that you have following options with 'On' in /etc/php.ini file:

    allow_url_include = on;
    allow_url_fopen = on;



  11. #11
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Hi,

    I have 30 GB to backup with all my data,

    This script will save file first on my server ? or if i use ftp mode all files will be stored directly on FTP Backup server ?



  12. #12
    Parallels Team IgorG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    15,509

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bartabc View Post
    Hi,

    I have 30 GB to backup with all my data,

    This script will save file first on my server ? or if i use ftp mode all files will be stored directly on FTP Backup server ?
    It will take so much local diskspace as is size of domain which is currently backuped. Then it will be transferred to ftp server, i.e. per-domain.



  13. #13

    Default

    This seems to work much better - can I check what exactly is this backing up?

    Things like:

    Plesk Entry?
    Database Connection / Users?
    Database itself?
    Website files within httpdocs?

    Many thanks!



  14. #14
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    21

    Default Plesk Server Backup Script

    Will this maintain number of backups?. We maintain 4 Backups i.e. weekly.

    We are looking for script or way to have one backup process for local repository and FTP i.e.

    When local repository backups runs it should also place a copy of compress single file backup to FTP. is it possible?

    There is radio buttons for choosing backup goes to either place if both are allowed then it would reduce time for our backup.

    More over its should manage backups sets as well on FTP as it does for local.

    As of now we are taking backup 2 times for a server, one local then we have start backup for FTP.

    Any suggestion?



  15. #15
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    225

    Default

    Very useful tool! Thanks.

    I've just run the script from an SSH session and it's completed.

    Plesk is showing the backup in the server repository however it appears that it's only backed up the server configuration.

    Is there a way to backup the subscription contents with this script?

    Would be very usefull if it could be used for running a nightly backup to FTP (via sheduler) and the server repo.

    Thanks

    EDIT: Script has now successfully executed from cronjob under root user.
    Plesk is showing new backup in server repo, but size is only 1.34MB and "Server Configuration" is the only restore option.
    Last edited by DaveKay; Sep 29, 2012 at 02:13 PM.



  16. #16
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default errror

    Hi

    I have the folow error messing:
    php -d safe_mode=0 /root/fullbackup.php -b -o ftp://XXXXXXXXXX@XXXXXXX/server
    PHP Warning: fopen(): connect() failed: Connection timed out in /root/fullbackup.php on line 105
    PHP Warning: fopen(ftp://...@XXXXXXXXXX/server/fullbackup_121008091154): failed to open stream: FTP server reports STOR in /root/fullbackup.php on line 105
    fopen(ftp://XXXXXXX:XXXXXX@XXXXXXXX/server...p_121008091154) failed
    I have change the php.ini:
    allow_url_include = on;
    allow_url_fopen = on;

    But i have the same error messing.
    Can someone help me?

    Thanks!
    Taimon



  17. #17
    Parallels Team IgorG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Posts
    15,509

    Default

    FTP server reports STOR
    Looks like that problem on FTP server side or issue related to network communication.
    Is it still actual for you?
    -
    Plesk Service Team || Twitter Facebook RSS



  18. #18
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IgorG View Post
    Looks like that problem on FTP server side or issue related to network communication.
    Is it still actual for you?
    Hi, i have test this, it was a problem with the FTP server, Thanks!



  19. #19
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    24

    Default Restore a domain

    Hi,
    I'm using this script to backup my server.
    now I need to restore just 1 domain.
    I ryn this command
    php -d safe_mod=0 fullbackup.php -r domain_mydomainname.com_121201053257
    it return lots of binary characters and nothing changed!
    now I have 2 question:

    1. is there any way to extract this file to use its contents?
    2. how can I use the restore command to restore a single domain?

    Sincerely yours



  20. #20

    Default How to restore single domain

    Quote Originally Posted by Joooop View Post
    1. is there any way to extract this file to use its contents?
    2. how can I use the restore command to restore a single domain?
    Please learn more Advanced Administration Guide -> Defining Objects for Restoration. Thanks.
    Last edited by sergius; Dec 19, 2012 at 02:12 AM.
    -
    Plesk Service Team || Twitter Facebook RSS



Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •