Transporter and Win Server 2008/SQL Server

Discussion in 'Parallels Transporter' started by Vermilk, Jun 21, 2012.

1. Vermilk

Vermilk Bit poster

First, i'm new to this tool and how it works.
    I need to copy my Win 2008 server and it's entire contents (including SQL Server and all it's data) to my new Mac Server as a virtualized machine. Is the transporter the way to do this? Should I consider a different route?

If this is the way to go, what steps do I need to take after it is transported over to the Mac server to make it work. Several clients currently access the existing Windows SQL Server for data through an application. I want them to see their data on the new Mac server without knowing the old server has moved.

Am I barking up the wrong tree?

Thanks!

K

2. Stuw

Stuw Parallels Developers

Hi

Most information about migrations available in Parallels Desktop User's Guide. To learn more check Import Your Data from a PC section.

Parallels Transporter is what you need.

Imported virtual machine should be available to other computers in your network if network type is "Bridged Network".
    I recomend you to check network settings of the imported VM after migration. For detailed info check Network Adapter section.

3. Vermilk

Vermilk Bit poster

Thanks for the info! I certainly suspected all this to be true from the reading I have done, but wanted to get a more informed opinion/answer.

Now I just have to figure out if I can turn my Domain Controllers off!

Hopefully, we will be a Mac office with the exception of this one server and a few virtualized desktops that talk to this server.

4. caclon

caclon Bit poster

I certainly suspected all this to be true from the reading I have done

5. thanhtung116

thanhtung116 Bit poster