Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Parallels 8 - Cannot install tools in Windows 8

  1. #1
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default Parallels 8 - Cannot install tools in Windows 8

    Anybody else having problems installing the Parallel Tools in Windows 8?



  2. #2

    Default

    Me too, I can't install Parallels Tools ob Win8 RTM machine after upgrading to P8 from P7: installation locks up at 59% and virtual machine's screen goes black.

    Please Help
    Last edited by AlexAgo; Aug 31, 2012 at 03:26 PM.



  3. #3
    Parallels Developers juzci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    301

    Default

    Hi,
    thank you for feedback, we do appreciate it!
    To investigate the issue we need some technical information, so could you please reproduce it, send us Problem Report as described in http://kb.parallels.com/en/9058 and give me an ID?

    Thanks in advance,
    Hanna
    Regards,
    Hanna



  4. #4
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Done, and here's the ID: 17688398.



  5. #5
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Same issue here. Looking forward to solution/workaround. I've tried almost everything I can think of so far to no avail. For the record I'm running mountain lion on 2012 Air. Guest is windows 8 pro x64 RTM.



  6. #6
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    For what its worth.... Having tried everything else, I decided to download Win 8 Pro x86 from Technet and give it a try instead of x64. What do you know... works like a champ, tools installed without a hitch.

    My next test will be to create a new x64 vm as a test to see if the issue is indeed an x64 issue or if its an issue regarding upgrading from Parallels 7 to 8 with existing VM.



  7. #7
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Alright, here we go. New x64 VM created without a hitch..... tools installed with no issue. So it appears the issue is related to upgrading from Parallels 7 to 8 with pre-existing VMs.



  8. #8
    Parallels Developers juzci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    301

    Default

    wynand32,
    thank you, we will investigate it.

    teknishn,
    we could you your report from problematic VM too.

    Regards,
    Hanna
    Regards,
    Hanna



  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by juzci View Post
    wynand32,
    thank you, we will investigate it.

    teknishn,
    we could you your report from problematic VM too.

    Regards,
    Hanna
    Any update im having exact same problem.

    ID 17833005
    Last edited by saulgoodman; Sep 6, 2012 at 11:24 PM.



  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by saulgoodman View Post
    Any update im having exact same problem.

    ID 17833005
    Been two weeks any fix starting to pissed off wasting my money on this **** could of went with VMWARE



  11. #11
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default How I solved the problem

    Background:
    New MacBookPro..installed Paralells 7, Windows Home Premium 7, upgraded to Parallels 8, then Windows 8. Used the dmg paradigm for parallels 8 (eligible for free upgrade).

    Fairly seamless upgrade until the notation: "Paralles Tools not installed" appeared at the bottom of the VM. The "gear" icon did not solve the problem. The parallels KB was partially helpful. One of the articles led me to
    parallells desktop.app/contents/resources/tools/prl-tools-win.tar.gz.

    Clicking the *.gz file extracted it and placed a copy of the folder prl-tools-win ain my user/download folder.

    From the Win 8 virtual machine in the "window" mod, I browsed to the prl-tools-win folder, opened the folder, and ran the setup.exe.

    The paralalles tools installation wizard opened and installation was seamless.

    Hope this is helpful. I am a PC guy and just playing with mac and parallels (may become addicted) works great in the coherent mode this far. Wife has a mac & I've had to learn more than I really wanted to know. :-))



  12. #12

    Default

    Hi There, i have the same problem, would anyone who been helped be kind to provide the solution also to the others? Thanks a lot in advance



  13. #13

    Default while installing Windows 8 message that i have to restart windows for parallel tools

    Hi There;
    while i am installing Windows 8( in parallel desktop 8) i get the message that i have to restart windows. . . .for installing Parallel Tools which is on 15%
    Restarting is not possible while i am still installing Windows.....
    I have already restarted my MAC but the problem is still there
    Can anybody help me?
    thanks in advance!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •