How to retrieve pvm deleted in empty trash

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by PrilyA, Mar 19, 2013.

1. PrilyA

PrilyA Bit poster

Hai Guys, I'm a newbie in this forum but now I have a problem about my parallells virtual machine.
    I accidentally remove pvm from parallels machine. My manager instructs me that I must clean up the MAC and parallels machine. So I removed it from MAC evidently I forget to backup file in the machine. Could you please guys give me any advices !! or maybe the solve of manner.

I have used any recovery software and these are wondershare and stellar phoenix mac data recovery but it still problem and have not yet discovered the lost file...

I really really thanks to your answer.

2. Specimen

Specimen Product Expert

You might have just removed it from the VM list, if that's the case, the .pvm is still in ~/Documents/Parallels. If that's not the case, continue reading.

Assuming you actually removed the VM and choose not to keep the files, which means they were sent to the trash, and you emptied the trash:

What you want to look for is an .hdd and/or .hds file, (.pvm is actually a folder/package that contains all the necessary settings and the .hdd), this is the virtual disk.

But the bad news is that if you emptied the trash it's gone, it won't be possible to retrieve, the reason is that it is a big file, several GBs in size, and it's a binary file, one single overwritten bit might render it unreadable, the big size makes the likelihood of that happen after the trash has been emptied very big, the simple fact that you installed one of these recovery apps might have overwritten over the freed up space.

The first rule of data recovery is stop using the disk where the data has been lost, do not write anything to it, use it only as read-only (connect it to another computer, use a live cd, etc).

Last edited: Mar 19, 2013
  3. PrilyA

PrilyA Bit poster