Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 65

Thread: Running Parallels Desktop 8 for Mac on Mac OS X Mavericks 10.9

  1. #1

    Default Running Parallels Desktop 8 for Mac on Mac OS X Mavericks 10.9

    hi...
    with 10.9 Mavericks as host system paralles 8 desktop is not working... no virtual machine can be started...
    first there is an error that vt is not activated... then an error, that drivers are not installed...



  2. #2
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default Parallels in OSX 10.9 host

    Hello!

    Obviously can't say too much without breaking developer NDA, but Parallels (7.0.15107) doesn't seem to work in the OSX 10.9 beta.

    The list of virtual machines appears, but I have varied results trying to resume a machine; some of them just plain never appear, no window - some of them appear but claim virtualisation is disabled so the guest will run slowly (problem id: 507), but then fail to load the parallels driver (id: 352, leading onto id 41).

    At any rate no guests will start. Anyone have any other experiences, does PD8 fare any better? Will we see a fix for 7, or shall I just wait for PD9.



  3. #3
    Bit Poster
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default

    it is the same with parallels 8 --> is there a parallels' representative to tell us if there is a solution for that in the near future,
    or is it easier to switch to vmware ( vmware 5.03 is reported to work, not to expensive ... ).



  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madamm View Post
    it is the same with parallels 8 --> is there a parallels' representative to tell us if there is a solution for that in the near future,
    or is it easier to switch to vmware ( vmware 5.03 is reported to work, not to expensive ... ).

    Here's something I worked out earlier for Parallels 8 Desktop.

    ......


    So, Parallels 8 doesn't run natively under Mavericks, as it doesn't seem to be able to load the kernel extensions.

    Load them manually via kextutil:

    Terminal - go to Applications/Parallels Desktop/Contents/Library/Extensions/10.6

    sudo kextutil prl_hypervisor.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_vnic.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_hid_hook.kext/
    sudo kextutil -d ./prl_hypervisor.kext prl_netbridge.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_usb_connect.kext

    Then start Parallels Desktop, and your guests should start up again.

    You may need to re-set networking within the guest.

    Not sure how stable this is going to be, but appears to be working at the moment.

    Have fun now,
    Mat



  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by luke666s View Post
    hi...
    with 10.9 Mavericks as host system paralles 8 desktop is not working... no virtual machine can be started...
    first there is an error that vt is not activated... then an error, that drivers are not installed...
    Same issue here.

    First I get this message:
    http://cl.ly/image/1E1r2k3b183Y

    After I get this message:
    http://cl.ly/image/1p3O1P0D2X3o

    And lastly I get a bug report form to fill out, but forgot to copy the ID for reference this issue (sorry).



  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PelleR View Post
    Same issue here.

    First I get this message:
    http://cl.ly/image/1E1r2k3b183Y

    After I get this message:
    http://cl.ly/image/1p3O1P0D2X3o

    And lastly I get a bug report form to fill out, but forgot to copy the ID for reference this issue (sorry).
    here is a workaround...
    http://forum.parallels.com/showthrea...-OSX-10-9-host



  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PelleR View Post
    Same issue here.

    First I get this message:
    http://cl.ly/image/1E1r2k3b183Y

    After I get this message:
    http://cl.ly/image/1p3O1P0D2X3o

    And lastly I get a bug report form to fill out, but forgot to copy the ID for reference this issue (sorry).

    Check here : http://forum.parallels.com/showthrea...l=1#post688976



  8. #8

    Default

    Same here. Bummer :(



  9. #9
    Product Expert Specimen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Over your shoulder
    Posts
    2,808

    Default

    Is this after a clean install of PDM8 in 10.9 or 10.8 was upgraded to 10.9 with PD8 in place? I suggest uninstalling and reinstalling PDM8, have you guys tried that?
    Parallels Desktop for Mac user since version 3.0
    Experience with OS X, Windows, Linux and BSD Operating Systems.

    . Always try to re-install Parallels Tools before reporting a problem: http://kb.parallels.com/8969
    . Parallels Desktop download (same .dmg: trial/upgrade/full): http://www.parallels.com/download/desktop/
    . Previous versions download links: http://kb.parallels.com/en/5802
    . Network troubleshooting: http://kb.parallels.com/en/8978
    . Knowledge base, documentation and support options: http://www.parallels.com/support/
    [NOTE] I'm a Product Expert, that doesn't mean I'm affiliated with or work for Parallels.



  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Specimen View Post
    Is this after a clean install of PDM8 in 10.9 or 10.8 was upgraded to 10.9 with PD8 in place? I suggest uninstalling and reinstalling PDM8, have you guys tried that?
    hi... it was an update... pdm8 running on 10.8 updated to 10.9.... i'll try uninstall and reinstall later...



  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Specimen View Post
    Is this after a clean install of PDM8 in 10.9 or 10.8 was upgraded to 10.9 with PD8 in place? I suggest uninstalling and reinstalling PDM8, have you guys tried that?
    how to do a proper uninstall? only moving to trash?? cause the the problem still exists....



  12. #12

    Default

    Wow, this works!

    Quote Originally Posted by MatGailes View Post
    Here's something I worked out earlier for Parallels 8 Desktop.

    ......


    So, Parallels 8 doesn't run natively under Mavericks, as it doesn't seem to be able to load the kernel extensions.

    Load them manually via kextutil:

    Terminal - go to Applications/Parallels Desktop/Contents/Library/Extensions/10.6

    sudo kextutil prl_hypervisor.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_vnic.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_hid_hook.kext/
    sudo kextutil -d ./prl_hypervisor.kext prl_netbridge.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_usb_connect.kext

    Then start Parallels Desktop, and your guests should start up again.

    You may need to re-set networking within the guest.

    Not sure how stable this is going to be, but appears to be working at the moment.

    Have fun now,
    Mat



  13. #13
    Product Expert Specimen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Over your shoulder
    Posts
    2,808

    Default

    Yes, just moving to the trash, but in another similar thread a user found the problem, PDM8's kernel extensions have to be manually launched.

    http://forum.parallels.com/showthrea...-OSX-10-9-host

    Why this is happening, I have no idea. But I'm sure Parallels will sort this behaviour for PDM8, for PDM7 I'm not so sure, depends if it's 2 year support has ended or not.

    Or maybe Apple will fix this. It's still a developer preview, remember that.
    Parallels Desktop for Mac user since version 3.0
    Experience with OS X, Windows, Linux and BSD Operating Systems.

    . Always try to re-install Parallels Tools before reporting a problem: http://kb.parallels.com/8969
    . Parallels Desktop download (same .dmg: trial/upgrade/full): http://www.parallels.com/download/desktop/
    . Previous versions download links: http://kb.parallels.com/en/5802
    . Network troubleshooting: http://kb.parallels.com/en/8978
    . Knowledge base, documentation and support options: http://www.parallels.com/support/
    [NOTE] I'm a Product Expert, that doesn't mean I'm affiliated with or work for Parallels.



  14. #14
    Product Expert Specimen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Over your shoulder
    Posts
    2,808

    Default

    Be sure to also report this problem to Apple.
    Parallels Desktop for Mac user since version 3.0
    Experience with OS X, Windows, Linux and BSD Operating Systems.

    . Always try to re-install Parallels Tools before reporting a problem: http://kb.parallels.com/8969
    . Parallels Desktop download (same .dmg: trial/upgrade/full): http://www.parallels.com/download/desktop/
    . Previous versions download links: http://kb.parallels.com/en/5802
    . Network troubleshooting: http://kb.parallels.com/en/8978
    . Knowledge base, documentation and support options: http://www.parallels.com/support/
    [NOTE] I'm a Product Expert, that doesn't mean I'm affiliated with or work for Parallels.



  15. #15

    Default

    Thank's a lot Mat! This does the trick. Now Parallels starts on Mavericks

    Now, I have fun
    Hans



  16. #16
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Doesn't work for 7 since it doesn't have that Extensions directory as far as I can see :(

    Edit: I tell a lie! Found them in /Library/Parallels/Parallels Service.app/Contents/Kexts/10.6 and it seems to work :)
    Last edited by Caesium; Jun 11, 2013 at 12:39 PM.



  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MatGailes View Post
    Here's something I worked out earlier for Parallels 8 Desktop.

    ......


    So, Parallels 8 doesn't run natively under Mavericks, as it doesn't seem to be able to load the kernel extensions.

    Load them manually via kextutil:

    Terminal - go to Applications/Parallels Desktop/Contents/Library/Extensions/10.6

    sudo kextutil prl_hypervisor.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_vnic.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_hid_hook.kext/
    sudo kextutil -d ./prl_hypervisor.kext prl_netbridge.kext/
    sudo kextutil prl_usb_connect.kext

    Then start Parallels Desktop, and your guests should start up again.

    You may need to re-set networking within the guest.

    Not sure how stable this is going to be, but appears to be working at the moment.

    Have fun now,
    Mat
    Doesn't work for me!

    No kernel file specified, using '/mach_kernel'

    Any idea!?



  18. #18
    Product Expert Specimen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Over your shoulder
    Posts
    2,808

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlexMBento View Post
    Doesn't work for me!

    No kernel file specified, using '/mach_kernel'

    Any idea!?
    Follow the instructions carefully, you have to know your way around the terminal, you have to change dir to teh one specified and only then issue the commands.
    Parallels Desktop for Mac user since version 3.0
    Experience with OS X, Windows, Linux and BSD Operating Systems.

    . Always try to re-install Parallels Tools before reporting a problem: http://kb.parallels.com/8969
    . Parallels Desktop download (same .dmg: trial/upgrade/full): http://www.parallels.com/download/desktop/
    . Previous versions download links: http://kb.parallels.com/en/5802
    . Network troubleshooting: http://kb.parallels.com/en/8978
    . Knowledge base, documentation and support options: http://www.parallels.com/support/
    [NOTE] I'm a Product Expert, that doesn't mean I'm affiliated with or work for Parallels.



  19. #19
    Product Expert Specimen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Over your shoulder
    Posts
    2,808

    Default

    Anyone experiencing this problem should report this to Apple, that's what the Dev preview is for anyway.
    Parallels Desktop for Mac user since version 3.0
    Experience with OS X, Windows, Linux and BSD Operating Systems.

    . Always try to re-install Parallels Tools before reporting a problem: http://kb.parallels.com/8969
    . Parallels Desktop download (same .dmg: trial/upgrade/full): http://www.parallels.com/download/desktop/
    . Previous versions download links: http://kb.parallels.com/en/5802
    . Network troubleshooting: http://kb.parallels.com/en/8978
    . Knowledge base, documentation and support options: http://www.parallels.com/support/
    [NOTE] I'm a Product Expert, that doesn't mean I'm affiliated with or work for Parallels.



  20. #20
    Kilo Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    But we don't know that it's a problem with 10.9 yet. It might be a problem with Parallels, and trivially fixable by them, so we'd just be wasting Apple's time.

    I'd rather wait for confirmation from Parallels rep that the problem lies with 10.9.



Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •