How to downgrade from PD 10 to PD 9

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by ThempuS, Aug 21, 2014.

1. ThempuS

ThempuS Bit poster

I find Parallels Desktop 10 to be horrible slow and buggy on my setup, I've tried all sort of settings and combinations. How to downgrade from version 10 to version 9?

2. MikeFromMesa

MikeFromMesa Member

Reinstall?

I am relatively new to Parallels but have almost the same question. I currently have 9 installed and was wondering if the upgrade to 10 was worth doing and how, if it was not, to return to 9. Before I upgraded to 9 I made a complete backup with the intention of restoring it if I wanted to go back to 8. I would do the same thing before upgrading to 10.

But, if you don't have a backup, can you just re-install 9? Will a re-installation of 9 work and return you to 9?

3. Andrew@Parallels

Andrew@Parallels Parallels Team

If you really need to downgrade, please follow these steps:
    1. Make a backup of your VM: http://kb.parallels.com/4859
    2. Uninstall Parallels Tools: http://kb.parallels.com/4841
    3. Uninstall Parallels Desktop 10 (move it to Trash from Applications list)
    4. Re-download Parallels Desktop 9 at http://www.parallels.com/directdownload/pd9
    5. Install it

However I wouldn't recommend to downgrade at all. You have 30 days free phone support and 24 months free email support from the product release date.
    You can call, chat or email Parallels Support at http://www.parallels.com/products/desktop/support/

4. JamesHardin

JamesHardin Bit poster

With respect, v10 should not be released; talking to support isn't going to fix that.

5. chiang

chiang Junior Member

I agree what JamesHardin said, V10 should be test more before release or pd fans will go crazy ...

6. Franzel

Franzel Bit poster

Same for me, V9 was running very smooth, V10.0.2 (27712) is slow, unresponsive and e.g. scrolling in latest Chrome a pain.