Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: The FTP command execution timed-out.

  1. #1
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    199

    Default The FTP command execution timed-out.

    My customers are constantly getting the error
    " FTP error: An unknown error has occurred. The FTP command execution timed-out." when they try to publish. Most times the server load is very light but the error still comes up and they cant publish their work.

    Anyone know what i can do to fix this?



  2. #2
    Parallels Team
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Check for similar exceptions in %SB_DIR%\_logs\application.log file



  3. #3
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    199

    Default

    i looked at the log and this is what i saw relating to the failure error;

    2008-03-27 02:28:34,573 [5] ERROR SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Web.PublishUtil - Unknown error occured
    SWsoft.SiteBuilder.BO.Facade.PublishException: Publish failed: unknown exception ---> Xceed.Ftp.FtpTimeoutException: The FTP command execution timed-out.
    at Xceed.Ftp.Engine.FtpCommand.EndExecute(IAsyncResul t asyncResult)
    at Xceed.Ftp.FtpClient.ChangeCurrentFolder(String folder)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.FtpResources.XceedFt pClient.ChDirToBaseDir()
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.FtpResources.XceedFt pClient.Upload(String path)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.FtpResources.FtpAdap ter.<>c__DisplayClass10.<OpenForWriting>b__f()
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.Resources.ProtocolAd apter.Invoke[T](ObjectMethodInvoker fun)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.FtpResources.FtpAdap ter.OpenForWriting(String fileName)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.Resources.ResourceFi le.Open(FileMode mode, FileAccess access, FileShare share)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.ResourceHelper.Copy( IResourceItem source, IResourceItem target)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.FileResources.FileRe sourceItem.CopyTo(IResourceItem target)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.Resources.ResourceRe plicator.Replicate(IResourceFolder source, IResourceFolder target, ReplicationPolicy policy)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.Repository.Resources.ResourceRe plicator.Replicate(IResourceFolder source, IResourceFolder target, ReplicationPolicy policy)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.BO.Facade.Publish.DynamicSitePu blisher.OnPublish(PublishSession publishSession, CheckResult cr)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.BO.Facade.Publish.SitePublisher .Publish(PublishSession publishSession)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.BO.Facade.Publish.PublishSiteCo mmand.<Run>b__0()
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.BO.Facade.PublishHelper.CheckPu blishExceptions(CheckPublishExceptionsMethod a_method)
    at SWsoft.SiteBuilder.BO.Facade.Publish.PublishSiteCo mmand.Run()
    --- End of inner exception stack trace --

    but i dont know what to make of it, i know it's not a network problem as i sometimes get the error publishing locally on the server.



  4. #4
    Parallels Team
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    72

    Default

    What ftp server do you use?



  5. #5
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    199

    Default

    I use microsoft FTP



  6. #6

    Default I get the same error

    only it started when I put a hardware firewall. Did you find any answers?



  7. #7
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    199

    Default

    No nothing yet, but i dont think this just an hardware firewall issue since i got the same error working at the console. I could have sworn i read somewhere on how to increase the ftp timeout but i cant locate it anymore



  8. #8

    Default Possible Help

    http://download1.parallels.com/SiteB...llation-guide/

    I found the above link, it's exclusively for running sitebuilder behind a firewall, and followed it to the letter, but now I am getting an "internal server error".

    If you have better luck, let me know.

    Dawn



  9. #9
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    199

    Default

    I have made that change before so i know it is not the problem. and i double checked to make sure it is still there.

    Maybe your error is due to the information supplied, for the first step this is how i enterd it <add key="PreconfiguredUrl" value="http://yourservername.yourdomain.com:80/sites"/>

    I didnt bother completing the second step but i do have an entry in hosts file binding my private IP address to the hostname of my server.



  10. #10

    Default Found the issue with Internal Server Error

    When I pasted in the second part to allow NAT, there was period at the end of the line and that was giving me fits.

    I have paid for a dance with Parllels to fix this. I will let you know if they are able to. So far they are living down to their reputation for support.

    Dawn



  11. #11

    Default

    Guys, please let me know if any assistance required here. DawnMccarroll, do you have ticket created with Parallels? Let me know how everything goes. By the way, it is recommended to install latest hotfix which could be applyed through Autoupdater section in Sitebuilder admin CP.



  12. #12
    Mega Poster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    199

    Default

    DawnMccarroll, was parallel able to help you. I am still constantly getting this error.



  13. #13

    Default

    Autoupdater no longer works for SiteBuilder and I cannot upgrade since the site templates do not work for the newest version. If I did not have clients using the current version, I would drop this lease ASAP. Has any progress been made on this issue?



  14. #14
    Parallels Team
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Can you please post a ticket to get support on this issue?



  15. #15

    Default

    If I do that, I will have to pay for a ticket to fix a bug that is obviously known by Parallels since I was told by Parallels that they know about the bug and are going to fix it. It has been a month or two now (probably longer for the existence of the bug) and I don't know how long it will take for the developers to fix this issue(s), but I have a real ethical stricture against enabling other people to scam me out of money.



  16. #16

    Default

    Try manually get Sitebuilder installation files from here http://www.parallels.com/download/sitebuilder4/win/ and install it according to installation guide: http://www.parallels.com/products/sitebuilder/docs
    Let me know about the results.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •