XLDR ATA Error

Discussion in 'Parallels Transporter' started by FunkyGibbon, Oct 15, 2010.

1. FunkyGibbon

FunkyGibbon Bit poster

HISTORY:
    My 4yr old Dell Laptop display adapter died a horrible death and after disabling it I can JUST get into windows on a good day and with the wind in the right direction. Rather than paying the £400+ charge from Dell I opted to replace. Hearing good things abut Mac reliability and quality plus Parallels I figured I would go all out. So all in all, I am a total Mac noob.

My laptop came with Windows XP Pro (OEM) and I haave no install disk - But I do have obviously the license stuck to the bottom of the laptop.

After a couple of false starts trying to transfer my entire HD using the USB cable, I finally got everything stored on an external HD. When running the Transporter on my Mac, the import completes and I run the VM for the first time. I get a dialogue saying configuring the VM with processes 1 of 4. After a while of configuring (still in process 1) I get a black dos screen and a Parallel drop-down appears reporting:

Clicking okay I can see the following error in the black DOS-type screen: [XLDR] ATA error_

Hunting around google I found this on the Parallels forum: http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?t=10566 where although the problem isnt reported resolved, I used is as a reference. As I dont have a disk, I borrowed a Windows XP Pro CD from work to see if I could use if to repair. I have now had a few attempts at running the configuration again and setting the boot sequence to CD first and forcing the VM to use my Macs CD drive - Each time I get the message: