run a website, hosting in the Mac Side, with IIS of the the Guest Os

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by filojoy, Oct 13, 2007.

1. filojoy

filojoy Bit poster

Hi
    I'm a newbie of Mac OS and Parallels.

I'm trying, without success, to understand how to make run a website, hosting in the Mac Side, with IIS of the the Guest Os (WinxpPro).

Connecting URL http://localhost:80 - Internet Explorer displays:
    This error (HTTP 500 Internal Server Error) means that the website you are visiting had a server problem which prevented the webpage from displaying.

IIS config:
    tab "WebSite"
    > TCP Port: 80
    tab "Home Directory"
    > check on "A share located on another computer"
    >Network Directory:" \\.Psf\.Home\..." the UNC path of sharing folder
    >Connect as "Administrator" pass: ""
    tab "Directory Security"
    >"Anonymus access and authentication control"
    >>"Edit"
    >> check on "Anonymous access"
    >> User name:" Administrator pass:""

-------
    Thanks in advance
    FiloJoy

2. Eru Ithildur

Eru Ithildur Forum Maven

Are you trying to set-up Windows to access a share to the OS X side? That is point IIS to a shared folder.

Sorry, but I am confuzzled.

3. filojoy

filojoy Bit poster

FlashBack:

I have allready setup a virtual machine (GuestOS winxp pro) using an image file inside Parallels (no Boot Camp).
    Starting my virtual machine I have on my WinXp desktop just a link to Os X side, with all the structure of my Os X HD root.
    As you know, we can use windows' programs to open files that are in the Os X side. What I wanna do right now, is the same thing with the IIS service. Why? Because I'm developing a dinamic website and it would be faster working without mooving (=copy) every times files from Mac Side to the Win Side to test it. Do u understand?

So, if I set IIS to a local folder (one in my winXP Desktop) and I copy my website's folder on winXp desktop, I don't have any problems and everything goes right.....