Poor quality recorded audio

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by TucsonTom, Feb 14, 2008.

1. TucsonTom

TucsonTom Member

I am using Parallels 3.0 Build 5584 running Windows XP on a Mac Pro running Leopard 10.5.2 with 7 GB of RAM. I am using a Plantronics headset. When I record audio the quality is very poor. Lots of static, skips, etc. Prior to upgrading to OS X 10.5.2 everything was working fine. Also, in the previous build of Parallels I didn't need to select my usb microphone manually, it worked automatically. Now I need to select it or I can't record anything at all.

I create online training programs for a living so this is a major issue for me. Please help!

2. Alicia

Alicia Parallels Team

Hello,

what application do you use for audio recording?
    And what Host OS build did you previously have? I mean, before the upgrade to 10.5.2, did you have 10.5.1 which didn't have audio issues?

As for connecting the microphone, please, ensure that in the Configuration Editor->USB Controller tab "Connect to the Guest OS" is chosen.

3. TucsonTom

TucsonTom Member

I was able to stop the problem by changing Parallel's settings for the VM.

4. marklen

marklen Bit poster

What settings did you change?

Hi Tom.

I'm experiencing similar problems. What settings did you modify?

Thanks.

5. TucsonTom

TucsonTom Member

I reset the sound in the Parallels configuration editor to use my headset. I've attached a screen shot showing my settings.

Also, I later had some problems with the sound program I use, Audacity. Audacity's cut, paste, copy and other edit menu items were grayed out. So was Audacity's save menu items. Strange as it seemed, this problem was caused because I'd changed the Parallels VM to use my headset microphone for input, but to use the line out for output instead of the headset. Resetting the output to the headset solved the Audacity problems. I mention these problems and fixes to show that some strange things can happen.