Installing networking drivers for Windows 2008

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by mydanes, Nov 27, 2008.

1. mydanes

mydanes Member

Hello - First I would like to say that I am VERY impressed with my experience on parallels thus far!!! It is AWESOME

My xp vms are working like a dream

i setup a windows 2008 server and everything went fine except after install (first boot) it states can't find the network adapter and you can not pass this section.

I have tried Bridged, shared and host only it just continues to report network adapter not found.

I tried to click scan for changes in device manager to no avail then I tried to do a manual setup from the list of choices which I did not think would work and I was correct (I had no idea which to choose)

Again - thanks Parallels for the best product I have ever used for Virtual machines :) I am a Oracle/SqlServer DBA and this tool is going to be invaluable to me.

Susan

2. Elric

Elric Parallels Team

Thank you for the warm feedback!

Do you mean that Parallels at startup of VM reports that "network adapter not found" or Windows wants Network Device Driver and cann't continue installation untill it is provided?

For the later case we just created the KB article with Windows Network drivers floppy disk image:
    http://kb.parallels.com/en/5808

If something will go wrong, please send a problem report using menu Help->Report a Problem and post here the number of report.

Last edited: Nov 28, 2008
  3. mydanes

mydanes Member

I Mean Windows gets through install - first boot up (final config of windows 2008) it states there is no network adapter and you must provide it to complete the install

I attached a photo of the device manager screen that I have and the error window that comes up.

I also started completely from scratch and same problem.

There is NO problem for my xp and win 2003 VMs just this 2008 install killing me ;)

Parallels ROCKS and works like nothing I could have dreamt of.