How do make my xp vm available to all users

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by msny58, May 29, 2008.

1. msny58

msny58 Bit poster

I am a long time windows user that switched to a 2.4 macbook a few weeks ago. My wife is a student so she needed microsoft word. I purchased parallels 3.0 and installed windows xp and word. How do I make my virtual machine available to all users on the macbook. Please remember I am a mac novice and also new to parallels. I have researched this site and the internet but still don't get it. TIA Mike

2. bitjunky

bitjunky Junior Member

I'll give you a quick overview of the way I set it up for this purpose - hopefully others can chime in to give you all the help you'll need to get it setup properly. There's a lot more to read in-between the lines below, but this should get you started down the right path...

1. setup a new Mac OS user (I named this user 'XP'), and enable 'fast user switching'.
    2. move your VM hdd to somewhere within this new user's home directory.
    3. setup a new VM for this hdd while logged into the new Mac OS user.
    4. create separate Windows accounts within your VM for you and your wife.

Then you can both just 'fast-switch' to the MacOS user, and use the same VM. You can also setup Windows networking, and use TweakUI to remap your Windows 'home' directories to be directed to your (respective) Mac OS user's home folders, etc.

3. John@Parallels

John@Parallels Forum Maven

Please also check Parallels Desktop for Mac user guide on page 235

4. Don Sullivan

Don Sullivan Bit poster

I just moved the folder with the virtual machine to the root level of the HD and adjusted the permissions so all of the authorized users have R/W access to the folder and it's contents and it works just fine.

In my case I have multiple user ID's I often use simultaneously (one for work and one personal) and I can launch the VM in either environment without problem.

5. msny58