Maintenance Update/PDMU4021

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by austieoporosis, Jan 25, 2009.

1. austieoporosis

austieoporosis Bit poster

I'm running 4.0.3810. When I try to install the aforementioned update, it downloads, prompts me to enter my password, and then after a few seconds, I get the following error message: "Unable to install the update." "Try to launch the installation again. If the problem persists, contact the Parallels support team for assistance." Needless to say, the problem has persisted. Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance.

2. eddyk

eddyk Member

Same problem here. Leopard 10.5.6 , 3 GB Ram, Parallels Build 4.0.3810, MacBook Pro 15", 2.33 GHz, Hitachi 160 GB, NO bootcamp.

3. dcrinzema

dcrinzema Member

What is PDMU4021??

I just had the same notification pop up, but I haven't attempted to install it. I've been using Parallels for 2+ years and have never seen anything like this. What is it, is it a new way to do incremental updates between releases, why are these problems cropping up, and should I even attempt to install it if I'm not having the problems it purports to fix?

Thanks.

4. Specimen

Specimen Product Expert

Shutdown VMs first.

5. pscarnegie

pscarnegie Bit poster

VMs are shut down. Update still won't install. So far not impressed with this 4.0 version. Major issues with permissions as well - even though the VM is installed in the Shared directory.

6. Specimen

Specimen Product Expert

Maybe you should do a Permissions Repair in Disk Utility.

7. jwjohnson99

jwjohnson99 Member

PDMU is a maintenance update for 3810. If you run "Check for Updates" you will find it. After finding the update I shut down Windows and then closed Parallels Desktop. Then I ran the update. I asked for my password as usual for any install and then completed fine. The build number is still 3810, but it's supposed to fix a few things. We'll see.

8. pscarnegie

pscarnegie Bit poster