Anniversary Update Need More Disk Space

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by WestC, Aug 12, 2016.

1. WestC

WestC Bit poster

I have a MBA with a 128 SSD without enough free space to expand the W10 VM to allow me to update W10 to the anniversary update (Updater error message says I need 20GB free). The W10 VM has 30GB with 8GB free. Has anyone found a solution to this? I thought I could use external storage, like a USB drive or SD card, but the Windows Updater must want space on the primary drive. update need more space.png

2. Raj@Parallels

Raj@Parallels Guest

Please empty Recycle Bin and also clear temporary files from your Windows virtual machine steps followed:
    1. To delete temporary files:
    Search for Disk cleanup from the taskbar and select it from the list of results.
    Under Files to delete, select the file types to get rid of. To get a description of the file type, select it.
    Select OK.
    2. If you need to free up more space, you can also delete system files:
    In Disk cleanup, select Clean up system files.
    Select the file types to get rid of. To get a description of the file type, select it.
    Select OK.

3. WestC

WestC Bit poster

I have done all of these items. I need 12GB more of storage. I was thinking that there may be a way to combine an external drive and primary drive so that Windows saw these as one drive.

4. Specimen

Specimen Product Expert

You cannot combine external disk space and make it look like a bigger partition to Windows.

You can try to temporally make your vm disk bigger by expanding it, you need to have those extra 12 gb of free space on your SSD (look in kb.parallels.com on how to do this). And then shrink it back.