Can't open Windows 10 - stuck on spinning device

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by tblack, Jul 21, 2019.

1. MichaelS119

MichaelS119 Bit poster

I have been battling this problem for over two years (since version 14). It has been frustrating, to say the least. Every time the solution has been to remove parallels, and restore a time machine backup of the VM. I have tried everything in this forum with no avail. I agree with other users, I believe the instability lies between Microsoft updates and the hypervisor running away with host resources. I own my own business and have lost countless hours on this particular instability. When Parallels announced v16 today, I almost took the suckers bait of "they had to fix this" in a major revision release. I couldn't take the chance. Over the weekend I removed Parallels and installed VMWare Fusion. It lacks the bells and whistles, but is a no-thrills stable VM host. Parallels lost a long time customer today. I have been running their software since version 12. The frustration I encountered myself and those in this forum was enough evidence that it was time to move on.

Sam33 likes this.
  2. BruceK4

BruceK4 Bit poster

I struggled with this all day yesterday, Mac totally unresponsive and burning up even when I managed to force quit parallels . I've started running the prl_disk_tool check 2 hours ago and still not even 1% progress.

3. AntonV1

AntonV1 Bit poster

I've had the same issue on a Mac 10.14 with Parallels Desktop 14.
    First Parallels wouldn't start, then Windows wouldn't boot.
    For me starting in recovery mode and running Disk First Aid did the trick for Parallels itself.
    To get Windows to finally boot I just had to be patient and wait around 1,5 hours until it booted.
    All Windows-updates are installed (even when clicking the check for updates-button)
    Ever since it's been working.

I hope it stays that way...

4. VugarA

VugarA Bit poster