Can't start Windows 8 VM on latest MacBook Air

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by endquotedotcom, Jun 18, 2013.

1. endquotedotcom

endquotedotcom Bit poster

I have a shiny new 11" MacBook Air and have configured Windows 8 on a Boot Camp partition, which works fine. However when I try to start it up in Parallels Desktop 8.0.18494, I get a message saying that I need to log in to Windows to configure it, and then a console which is stuck at "Trying to boot from SATA Drive 1..."

I've tried a bunch of times but haven't been able to get past this.

2. GeekHerder

GeekHerder Bit poster

Same here, MBA 13" I think it is due to the SSD being PCIe. This is the first Mac with that configuration, and it looks like Parallels doesn't support it yet.

3. Milhouse994

Milhouse994 Bit poster

Same here! I have a brand new 13" MBA and I have literally spent 6-8 hours trying to get this to work today. Trying every work around, cheat and hack to try and get it to run, no luck.

Windows 8 runs great in Boot Camp, but I cannot get it setup in Parallels using the Boot Camp partition. "Trying to boot from SATA drive 1" error.

Hoping we can get a patch to Parallels ASAP to resolve this as I'm dead in the water until then.

Thanks!

EDIT: Posted a thread over at the Macrumors forums to help anyone else out with this problem

Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  4. Andrew@Parallels

Andrew@Parallels Parallels Team

Have you guys updated to the latest build of Parallels Desktop 8?

5. Milhouse994

Milhouse994 Bit poster

Hi Andrew,

I am running the latest version, 8.0.18494. Still having the issue. Identically, I opened a ticket to report this issue (#1669332). So far they have not been able to help.

Thanks.

6. Milhouse994

Milhouse994 Bit poster

Hi Andrew,

Yes, I am running Parallels 8.0.18484. Incidentally, I opened a ticket to report this issue (#1669332). So far they have not been able to help.

Thanks

7. gdminch

gdminch Bit poster