10.5.2 / XP no network connectivity

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration' started by adriantoll, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. adriantoll

    adriantoll

    Messages:
    4
    Hiya

    I've been using Parallels for a while now on Leopard, and wasn't having any problems until installing the 10.5.2 update. Now I get the "Limited or no connectivity" message in the guest OS (XP Professional), and I can't connect to the internet using the guest OS.

    I tried looking through the forums for an easy fix, but eventually I gave in and totally uninstalled Parallels, including all the guest OSs (I use it for checking websites on PC browsers, so have one for IE6, one for IE7 etc.) and then reinstalled. This worked until I shut down my Mac last night and started it up this morning - and again I can't get any internet connectivity.

    This morning I've tried switching between Shared and Host-only networking, and also reinstalling Parallels Tools, to no avail.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks, Adrian.

    My setup:
    2 x 3 GHz Quad-Core Mac Pro with 8Gb of memory
    Mac OS X 10.5.2, including all the latest software updates as of today
    Guest OS is Windows XP Professional, including all the latest updates
    Parallels 3.0 build 5584 with Parallels Tools installed
    2 x 500Gb hard drives
    Not using Boot Camp

    Edit 1: I've just done an ipconfig in XP, and it's getting an autoconfiguration IP, not showing Connection-specific DNS Suffix, and no Default Gateway - see attached image Picture 2.png

    Edit 2: I tried changing from Shared Networking to Bridged Ethernet with the same MAC address as my Mac Pro and although the Mac Pro's network connection dropped, the network worked in the Parallels guest OS. When I shut down XP, the Mac Pro's connection came back. I'm at work, and my network only allows specified MAC addresses, so I guess the Windows XP connection chucked out the Mac Pro connection for some reason. It doesn't solve the problem - I obviously need both connections to work at the same time, but does mean that Parallels *can* work... I presume Shared Networking should shield the Windows XP installation from the network?

    P.S. I couldn't search the forum for "10.5.2" - it returned no results. It would be really useful if this search did work, so that can search for answers to issues with specific versions of the host OS rather than just "Leopard" or "Tiger".
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 22, 2008
  2. Xenos

    Xenos Parallels Team

    Messages:
    1,547
    Hello Adriantoll,

    Thank you for the detailed report. Could you please provide another screenshot? I would like to see the output of ifconfig command run in Terminal on Mac side.

    Best regards,
    Xenos
     
  3. adriantoll

    adriantoll

    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for your reply Xenos - here's the screenshot.

    Adrian

    Edit: Here is a copy-and-paste, as the screenshot is coming out too small:

    Last login: Fri Feb 22 14:07:02 on ttys000
    AdrianToll:~ adriantoll$ ifconfig
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
    inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
    inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet6 fe80::219:e3ff:fef8:f342%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
    inet 134.36.41.115 netmask 0xfffffe00 broadcast 134.36.41.255
    ether 00:19:e3:f8:f3:42
    media: autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>) status: active
    supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control>
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    ether 00:19:e3:f8:f3:43
    media: autoselect status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control>
    fw0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 4078
    lladdr 00:1b:63:ff:fe:64:24:0e
    media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
    en2: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    ether 00:19:e3:dc:e8:31
    media: autoselect (<unknown type>) status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect
    vmnet8: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 192.168.205.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.205.255
    ether 00:50:56:c0:00:08
    vmnet1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 172.16.56.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 172.16.56.255
    ether 00:50:56:c0:00:01
    en3: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:0%en3 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0xa
    inet 169.254.70.81 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 169.254.255.255
    ether 00:1c:42:00:00:00
    media: autoselect status: active
    supported media: autoselect
    en4: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:1%en4 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0xb
    inet 169.254.70.81 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 169.254.255.255
    ether 00:1c:42:00:00:01
    media: autoselect status: active
    supported media: autoselect
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 22, 2008
  4. Xenos

    Xenos Parallels Team

    Messages:
    1,547
    Adriantoll, please do the following:

    Reboot your Mac;
    Disable Firewall both on Mac and Windows sides and Keyspan software (if you have it);
    Restart Parallels NAT and Host-Guest:

    1. Open Mac OS System Preferences and choose Network.
    2. Choose Parallels NAT from the Show menu. In Configure IP field set Off and press Apply button. Then set Using DHCP in Configure IP field and press Apply button again.
    3. Choose Parallels Host-Guest from the Show menu. In Configure IP field set Off and press Apply button. Then set Using DHCP in Configure IP field and press Apply button again.

    Best regards,
    Xenos
     
  5. adriantoll

    adriantoll

    Messages:
    4
    Hi Xenos

    I've tried that, but no change. I think you might be using a different version of OSX - my network control panels look a bit different than the one you're writing about, but I:

    1. Rebooted my Mac
    2. Turned the Mac firewall off
    3. Opened Parallels and started XP
    4. Turned the XP firewall off
    5. Went to network preferences
    6. Turned IPv6 off and renewed the IPv4 DHCP lease for both Parallels connections

    That didn't change anything so I rebooted XP, but that didn't change anything, and neither did rebooting the Mac and starting Parallels / XP again.

    Cheers
    Adrian
     
  6. mjs

    mjs

    Messages:
    26
    I have exactly the same problem that I can use neither shared nor host-only networking. Following the suggestion above doesn't help.

    Regards,
    Mark
     
  7. Xenos

    Xenos Parallels Team

    Messages:
    1,547
    Hello Adrian and Mark,

    Please run this command in Terminal: sudo killall –hup pvsnatd

    Best regards,
    Xenos
     
  8. adriantoll

    adriantoll

    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for looking into this Xenos - but it seems to be working again now, inexplicably. I haven't installed any software updates - my Software Update log only shows a new version of iTunes installed on the 22nd, and nothing after that. I haven't changed any network settings or anything like that. I'm kinda happy that it seems to work now, but it would be nice to know what went wrong!

    Cheers
    Adrian
     
  9. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Bit Poster

    Messages:
    4
    I am having the same problem. XP is sending and receiving packets. The firewall is switched off and I have killed the relevant process at Terminal and rebooted. What is going on? And how do I fix this problem? Help please!
     
  10. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Bit Poster

    Messages:
    4
    In the Network area, it says that both Parallels Guest and NAT are "Not connected". I have turned DHCP off and on again for each of them but that makes no difference.
     
  11. RReuscher

    RReuscher

    Messages:
    8
    I had a similar issue. For some reason I could never figure out the Parallels NAT and Parallels Host-Guest devices would not get a valid ip address, they would get a self assigned address. Even if I tried to get an address from the Network System Preference it still would come back with a self-assigned address. If I'd bounce my system, this would be corrected, and I could bring up XP and run just fine. I don't normally leave XP up or run it very often, and when I go back to it it would be back to a self assigned address. I got tired of rebooting everytime I needed to run XP, so I manually configured the devices with a valid IP address/subnet mask/router that would never be given out by my DHCP server, and I haven't had a problem since then.
     
  12. michaelstanford

    michaelstanford

    Messages:
    6
    DHCP issue in Parallels

    I have the same problem. It is intermittent. It appears to be Parallels somehow not letting DHCP messages through.

    At the Windows XP command line, I typed "ipconfig" and observe the DHCP query address. I typed "ipconfig /renew" and it gave up after a while saying the DHCP server is unreachable.

    One time this happened I left everything alone for a few hours and when I came back everything was working.

    Another time I hardwired an IP address in Windows, and everything worked fine. I set Windows networking back to DHCP and it succeeded in getting a DHCP address. Everything continued OK.

    The next time this happens I will try rebooting my router instead, just to make sure it's not a router issue.

    --------------
    For readers who want a more detailed explanation:
    >>At the Windows XP command line, I type "ipconfig" and observe the DHCP query address:
    In Windows, hold down the command key and press the R key. The Run dialog appears. type "cmd" and press enter.
    The Windows Terminal Window appears. Type "ipconfig".
    If everything is working fine, you will see an address that probably begins with 192 or sometimes 10. If there is a problem the address will be 0.0.0.0, or something beginning with 169, which is the temporary address that the system is using to find the DHCP server.
    >>I hardwire an IP address in Windows:
    In Windows, hold down the command key and press the E key. This brings up the File Explorer. Make sure the Folders panel appears on the right of the window. Right-click on "My Network Places" and select "Properties."
    Something like "Local Area Connection" appears in the right window panel. Double click on it, and select "Properties." A window appears with a list in it.
    Scroll down the list to highlight "Internet Protocol," then click on the "Properties" button below the list.
    Fill in the address fields.
     
  13. Xenos

    Xenos Parallels Team

    Messages:
    1,547
    Hello all,

    Adrian, glad to know it's OK now. Thanks for the feedback. You might have changed IPv6 protocol on IPv4 and that let you get network connection back.

    AnthonyG, RReuscher and Michaelstanford, we need more information to find out the causes for you network issues which can differ.

    Please let us know the following:

    Parallels Desktop build you are using;
    Network Adapter type in your VM;
    Network configuration on Mac side;
    What antivirus programms you are using;
    The output of ifconfig command from Mac side (run the command in Terminal);
    The output of ipconfig /all command from Windows side (click Start -> Run, type cmd and run the command in CMD window);
    The output of tracert www.parallels.com command from Windows side.

    Best regards,
    Xenos
     
  14. qurlyjoe

    qurlyjoe

    Messages:
    1
    same problem

    I was having the same problem. In my case, however, I have two other guest installations using just disk images stored on the hard disk, one with Win XP and the other with Vista. It's just the Boot Camp guest (running XP) that's having the network issue.

    All three have the same network configuration, using the Shared networking option. The Boot Camp guest was working before I upgraded to 10.5.2. No changes were made to any of the configurations before or after the 10.5.2 upgrade.

    In the native Boot Camp configuration, I've got it set to a static ip address, because the subnet it's on doesn't connect to a dchp server. This has not been an issue before the 10.5.2 upgrade.

    I have no anti-virus app on the Mac side, and McAfee VirusScan 8.5i on the Windows side.
    Firewalls are off on both sides.

    I'm running build 5582 of Parallels.

    Just to see what happened, I booted into the native Boot Camp partition, which worked as expected, and then rebooted into Mac OS, and then restarted the Parallels Boot Camp.

    It's happy now. (Me, too.) All network access is available.
     
  15. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Bit Poster

    Messages:
    4
    Hi guys. This may be what you need to help us:

    1. Mac OS Version 10.5.2
    2. Parallels Build # - 5584
    3. What kind of computer Macbook Pro 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    4. Total Physical RAM 2Gb 667 Mhz
    5. Hard Drives16- GB
    6. If you are using a BootCamp configuration or not No
    7. Did you upgrade from a BETA- No
    8. With what Build did the problem start - 5582
    9. If Parallels Tools are installed - Yes
    10. Anything you have tried to get things working. Turned off firewalll on windows (none on Mac as far as I know); ran in Terminal: sudo killall –hup pvsnatd
    11. Anything specific about your set-up you think we should know IP config says
    no connection specific DNS
    no Default Gateway
    But OKIp Address and Subnet Mask
    12. If you are crashing, upload some crash logs
    13. If you are getting an error message type it in and then attach a screenshot.
    14. If you are having issues with a specific component (i.e. mouse, keyboard, monitor) tell us what it is.


    ifconfig:

    anthony-gilberts-computer:~ agilbert$ ifconfig
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
    inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
    inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    ether 00:1b:63:97:16:c9
    media: autoselect status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control> none
    fw1: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 4078
    lladdr 00:1b:63:ff:fe:7c:12:1a
    media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
    supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet 192.168.0.12 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.0.255
    inet6 fe80::21b:63ff:fec7:5a92%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x6
    ether 00:1b:63:c7:5a:92
    media: autoselect status: active
    supported media: autoselect
    en2: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:0%en2 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x7
    inet 10.37.129.3 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.37.129.255
    ether 00:1c:42:00:00:00
    media: autoselect status: active
    supported media: autoselect
    en3: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:1%en3 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x8
    inet 10.211.55.4 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.211.55.255
    ether 00:1c:42:00:00:01
    media: autoselect status: active
    supported media: autoselect


    ipconfig /all

    Host name: MACANTHONY
    Primary DNS Suffix
    Node Type Hybrid
    IP outing enabled No
    WINS Proxy enabled No

    Ethernet Adapter Local Area connection

    Connection Specific DNS Suffix:
    Description Parallels Network Adaptor
    Physical address 00-12-3F-B3-0B-1D
    DHCP enabled yes
    Autoconfiguration enabled yes
    IP address 192.168.0.13
    Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway 192.168.0.254
    DCHP server 192.168.0.254
    DNS servers 212.27.53.252
    212.27.54.252
    Primary Win Server 192.168.0.5
    Lease obtained 04 March 2008 16.42.27
    Lease expires 14 March 2008 16.42.27



    tracert

    1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.254
    2 56 ms 54 ms 56 ms 192.168.254.254
    3 72 ms * * bzn-6k-5-v201.routers.proxxad.net [212.27.55.126]
    4 * * * Request timed out
    5 * * * Request timed out
    6 59 ms 61 ms 61 ms cr02.ldn01.pccwbtn.net [195.66.224.167]
    7 * 140ms 137 ms s ervint.ge5-7.br01.wdc02.pccwbtn.net [63.218.83 (rest hidden)]
    8 142 ms 151 ms 171 ms dl1-si-dc.parallels.com [64.131.87.26]
    9 139 ms 143 ms 139 ms pr1l-si-dc.parallels.com [64.131.89.29]
    10 138 ms 138 ms 142 ms www.parallels.com [64.131.89.6]
     
  16. joeh24

    joeh24

    Messages:
    1
    Same Problem

    for the record - I'm having the same connection problems on a MacBook running 3.0/build 5584 after software update to 10.5.2

    Joe
     
  17. Xenos

    Xenos Parallels Team

    Messages:
    1,547
    Hello,

    AnthonyG, the commands outputs show that you have network connection. So the issue might be caused either by antivirus software incompatibility - please check if disabling it will help, - or by some browser problems. Please try another browser.

    Joe, could you provide the same information that AnthonyG provided?

    Best regards,
    Xenos
     
  18. NeilAJ

    NeilAJ

    Messages:
    4
    Same Problem As Well

    I have the exact same setup and problem as Joe.

    How do I get the info that Anthony provided? I would send it...

    Thanks,
    Neil
     
  19. Xenos

    Xenos Parallels Team

    Messages:
    1,547
    Hello Neil,

    As I have mentioned above, the following information is needed:

    The output of ifconfig command from Mac side (run the command in Terminal);
    The output of ipconfig /all command from Windows side (click Start -> Run, type cmd and run the command in CMD window);
    The output of tracert www.parallels.com command from Windows side.

    Best regards,
    Xenos
     
  20. viaheli

    viaheli

    Messages:
    4
    I, too, am suffering similar problems in my Boot Camp partition. After a multitude of the many previously discussed and documented issues after installing and attempting to run Parallels on a new MacBook Pro, I uninstalled Parallels using the included 'uninstallation' application. Now, when booting to my Boot Camp partition to access what used to be a pristine XP/SP2 load, my trackpad and keyboard are completely non operational. Therefore, you'll be receiving not screen shots from me for awhile. It baffles me how the Parallels dev. team could allow this kind of thing to happen. I'm a dedicated user of both Windows and Mac OS X and was merely seeking to simplify and make more practical my entire computer usage experience. Now look where I am. What a load of )(*&.
     

Share This Page