5160 and Networking with Leopard

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration' started by iBecks, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. iBecks

    iBecks

    Messages:
    14
    Please find screenshots attached.

    As you can see on the first one, the Parallels NAT has a self assigned IP address.

    Most of the time, but not always, I click on renew DHCP and then it shows a Parallels DHCP IP address and I can file share.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. iBecks

    iBecks

    Messages:
    14
    I have to split the posts as there are 8 files to upload.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. billybeaker

    billybeaker

    Messages:
    10
    another symptom for the problem on my system

    When I run Boot Camp in the virtual machine, there is not network adapter showing up in Windows Network Connections. There is also nothing that shows up when I run "ipconfig" in command prompt. I assume this is related to having no networking. In the Windows device manager, "Parallels Network Adapter" does show up under Network Adapters. I'm wondering how can I add the adapter to Network Connections?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. kuebler

    kuebler Bit Poster

    Messages:
    62
    I had no networking with 10.5.1 and 5160

    FWIW:

    After upgrading to 10.5.1 I could no longer get an ethernet connection, not with shared access nor with bridged.

    I got a hint that deinstalling Parallel Tools, reinstalling and rebooting MacOS would remedy the matter, but unfortunately not with me.

    After I had tried virtually everything I could think of, I finally came to pressing system setup / network connections / LAN connection 3. And this beast started to activate and I had again internet access :)
     
  5. Alicia

    Alicia Parallels Team

    Messages:
    683
    Hello,

    iBecks, I have to make an apology, it seems that it's Parallels bug. Thank you very much for detailed information about this issue - it will help us to investigate and fix it.

    Best regards,
    Alicia.
     
  6. mrakins

    mrakins

    Messages:
    2
    Has this problem been fixed for others? I have essentially the same symptoms (I'd be happy to provide my specific configuration details), notably nothing showing up if I type ipconfig under XP. I have upgraded to 5582 and done a clean install (doing all the sudo commands).
     
  7. iBecks

    iBecks

    Messages:
    14
    No, its not fixed, it still does the same even with the beta version.
     
  8. Alicia

    Alicia Parallels Team

    Messages:
    683
    Hello,

    please, install our fresh build. Will the issue still occur after that?

    Best regards,
    Alicia.
     
  9. MacPaq

    MacPaq

    Messages:
    10
    I had the same problem and wasted lot of time thinking it can be fixed. I ended up asking fora refund from Parallels and got the VMware Fusion. Problem solved.
     
  10. mrakins

    mrakins

    Messages:
    2
    Build 5582 does not solve the problem for me.
     
  11. MartinBear

    MartinBear

    Messages:
    26
    Try correcting DHCP scope in Preferences

    I had the same problem after upgrading to Leopard and 5582.

    I fixed it (knock on wood !!) by changing the DHCP scope in Parallels-->Preferences-->Network-->DHCP scope.

    The default range (or at least, what I found there) is 10.55.211.x but my actual DHCP server (as configured by me) uses 10.0.0.150 through 10.0.0.200. I made that change to Parallels, restarted the VM, and now shared networking is functioning OK. Here is what IPCONFIG shows:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\martinbear>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : martin-winxp
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Parallels Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-7F-FE-F4-78-B3
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.151
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 09, 2007 14:40:22
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, December 16, 2007 14:40:22

    ... and now for the strange part: the Default Gateway and DHCP Server are wrong (in the sense that on my real, physical network the Gateway is 10.0.0.138 and so is the DHCP server).

    ... but if Parallels is now happy, then I'm happy.
     

Share This Page