5540 + 10.5 Leopard

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop 3.0 for Mac Public Beta' started by dcrinzema, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. wkharris

    wkharris

    Messages:
    19
    Interestingly enough - I took the plunge and installed 5540 on my Macbook Pro and without a restart I tried to start my XP Pro VM - to my surprise it started up like normal under 5160! So I next shut the VM down, went into the config for the VM and change the setting to mount the XP drive image on the MacOS X desktop and tried to restart the VM.

    BANG - I was at the spinning ball of death!!!!!!

    So after a force quite and a restart - the VM now starts like before the the XP Drive image shows up on the MacOS desktop.

    So.... I think Alens comments are right on - either a service needs to be stopped and restarted or a forced system reboot needs to be implemented within the installer script!
     
  2. Dondi

    Dondi

    Messages:
    12
    Same issue here. The Parallels install clearly triggered something that looked like a hardware change to Vista. It probably had something to do with the fact that I ran the 5540 installer three times because it kept hanging at the "less than one minute remaining" mark. The installer never completed gracefully, but when I rebooted and started Parallels, everything seemed to work properly -- I received the "install Parallels Tools" prompt which I followed to install the required drivers.

    However, after using Vista for some time, a balloon popped up informing me that Windows needed to be re-activated due to a hardware change in my system. I first tried re-activation via the internet, but that failed. So, I called up MS, described the issue to a nice young man named Naveen who asked if I had previously activated the software (YES) and how many PCs I had the software running on (ONE). He asked for the first six digits shown on my Windows activation screen, then gave me a rather long activation code (Eight Six-digit sequences) and asked me to enter it. I entered the codes and viola! -- Vista re-activated. So far, so good.
     
  3. K-Dee

    K-Dee Bit Poster

    Messages:
    53
    My experience with the beta....

    I've updated to the beta last night and noticed the following:

    - I had to restart the Mac twice to make it work (once because Parallels wouldn't start and once to make the shared networking come online).

    - After the update of Parallels tools in my VM's, my copy of Vista wanted to activate itself again. So I had to call Microsoft to do it. My XP and Win2K VM's seem okay.

    - In Vista, the video driver seems better. I can actually play the included games such as minesweeper (although the game window flickers alot, still it's a step forward). I can also run the Vista experience rating gizmo, but it still won't give me a score.

    - Resume and suspend speeds seem to be about the same as before.

    - Speeds in my XP and Vista VM's seem a touch faster.

    - I have had one kernel panic since installing this version, but it otherwise seems stable.

    Hope that helps someone.
     
  4. mog0

    mog0

    Messages:
    12
    Activation Problems

    I also have activation problems with 5540. I installed 5540 on the day it came out and Vista is now saying that I have 1 day to reactivate. The Internet activation says that my licence is already registered on another machine. I have not yet tried the phone activation...will have to try that later.

    Mog
     
  5. dtidmore

    dtidmore

    Messages:
    40
    No Problem upgrading to beta release

    I had upgraded to Leopard on release date. Other than a few issues with TM related to the fact that I had "/" characters in my computer name, the upgrade was clean. Today I made the decision to move to the beta 5560 Parallel. I did my usual of practice of shutting down Windows XP and then killing Parallels. I then ran the normal install of Parallels which ran to completion. I then started Parallels and XP. Parallel Tools did the normal install and requested a reboot, again normal. No problems. My XP discs now appear on my OSX desktop.

    david
     
  6. mog0

    mog0

    Messages:
    12
    I have now reactivated successfully using the phone system and all seems well.

    It has occurred to me though that Windows Activation usually allows several changes before requiring you to reactivate. It makes me wonder if Windows has detected hardware changes after multiple upgrades of Parallels and only now has the counter hit it's limit. Could be why only a few people appear to be having problems with this...others may hit it after more future updates.

    Mog
     
  7. Laser_jock

    Laser_jock

    Messages:
    45
    Finally got 10.5 last night! :)

    Upgraded to 5540 BEFORE upgrading to 10.5. 5540 worked fine under 10.4.10 for me. Upon upgrading (archive/install) I found that I had to reinstall 5540 (PD was complaining that it couldn't find a file (sorry didn't write things down)) after which things have worked quite well.

    LJ
     
  8. wkharris

    wkharris

    Messages:
    19
    Now it is stable after re-install!

    Well - I did a complete uninstall of parallels with a reboot, and then a Re-Install - my unexpected quit error seems to have gone away! I ran yesterday in XP for over 10 hours with no issues!
     
  9. Morrie

    Morrie

    Messages:
    19
    5540 gives me a spinnning beachball and requires a force quit, when I try to start my XP VM. Thereafter 5160 refuses to run, too. After a reboot, 5160 works again. Try 5540 once more and the same thing happens. After a few reboots I decided 5540 does something to corrupt the system until the next reboot.
     
  10. tilenius

    tilenius

    Messages:
    10
    Big time freezing / hanging w/ Leopard

    I run Parallels 3.0 on two Mac Pro computers (both with multiple processors and a ton of RAM, lots of disk space, etc.). Everything was fine with 5160 until I upgraded to Leopard.

    Now, several times a day, Parallels FREEZES ("Hang") and I need to Force Quit it. It's not a guest OS thing -- the whole app freezes up and I need to use the Mac Force Quit to make it work.

    I "upgraded" to the beta 5540 but same thing. 5540 seems to hang neither more nor less than 5160.

    Both of my computers do this. They seem to be especially prone to freezing when the guest OS (Win XP Professional on both) is launching an app or doing other file access such as viewing an image, but I have not been able to reproduce it.

    Needless to say, this is a huge problem -- I'm effectively hard rebooting my virtual Windows machine at least a half-dozen times per day since I installed Leopard. Ugh!

    I've reported the application to Apple each time. Do they send you guys the logs?

    I think some others have posted this, too. I just get the spinning beach ball of death. I've tried letting it go for hours once, but it definitely does not un-freeze itself. Killing the Parallels process and hard-rebooting is the only way to get out of this mess.

    Please let me know what I can do give you more info to track this down.

    Again, I had *no* problems with "Tiger", have had nothing but problems with "Leopard". No settings were changed. This is BOTH a problem in production 5160 *and* in 5540 beta.

    Thanks!!!
     
  11. kevinvh@mac.com

    kevinvh@mac.com

    Messages:
    61
    For 5160, do Items 5 and 6 at http://forum.parallels.com/showthread.php?p=87017. Make sure you reboot Leopard after Item 6. I still crash on the odd occasion but seems to be limited to when Parallels/XP Pro are in the background and I am using Excel 2004 for Mac in the foreground.

    Not sure if the same procedure works for 5540.

    Hopefully, a permanent fix will arrive soon.
     
  12. tilenius

    tilenius

    Messages:
    10
    Some error log info

    Not sure if this helps -- I think it's related to my crashes -- from my console logs:

    11/5/07 6:09:41 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] Mon Nov 5 18:09:41 eric-tilenius-computer.local Parallels[8526] <Error>: CGImageCreate: invalid image size: 0 x 0.
    11/5/07 6:14:24 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] Mon Nov 5 18:14:24 eric-tilenius-computer.local Parallels[8526] <Error>: CGImageCreate: invalid image size: 0 x 0.
    11/5/07 6:26:27 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] GetUsbDevices(): Unable to create a plugin (0xe00002be)
    11/5/07 6:26:27 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] GetUsbDevices(): Unable to create a plugin (0xe00002be)
    11/5/07 6:26:27 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] GetUsbDevices(): Unable to create a plugin (0xe00002be)
    11/5/07 6:26:30 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] GetUsbDevices(): Unable to create a plugin (0xe00002be)
    11/5/07 6:26:30 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] GetUsbDevices(): Unable to create a plugin (0xe00002be)
    11/5/07 6:26:30 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] GetUsbDevices(): Unable to create a plugin (0xe00002be)
    11/5/07 6:32:09 PM quicklookd[8977] EXCEPTION CPMessageException: (null)
    11/5/07 6:32:10 PM quicklookd[8977] EXCEPTION CPMessageException: (null)
    11/5/07 6:32:39 PM com.apple.launchd[111] (0x10bef0.Locum[8984]) Exited: Terminated
    11/5/07 6:33:18 PM quicklookd[8986] EXCEPTION CPMessageException: (null)
    11/5/07 6:33:44 PM [0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526] Mon Nov 5 18:33:44 eric-tilenius-computer.local Parallels[8526] <Error>: CGImageCreate: invalid image size: 0 x 0.
    11/5/07 6:42:15 PM com.apple.launchd[111] ([0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526]) Stray process with PGID equal to this dead job: PID 9005 PPID 1 WinAppHelper
    11/5/07 6:42:15 PM com.apple.launchd[111] ([0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526]) Stray process with PGID equal to this dead job: PID 8561 PPID 1 WinAppHelper
    11/5/07 6:42:15 PM com.apple.launchd[111] ([0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526]) Stray process with PGID equal to this dead job: PID 8542 PPID 1 vfstool
    11/5/07 6:42:15 PM com.apple.launchd[111] ([0x0-0x2ac2ac].com.parallels.desktop[8526]) Exited: Killed

    Date/Time: 2007-11-05 18:42:06 -0800
    OS Version: 10.5 (Build 9A581)
    Architecture: i386
    Report Version: 4

    Command: Parallels Desktop
    Path: /Applications/Parallels/Parallels Desktop.app/Contents/MacOS/Parallels
    Version: 3.0 (3.0 Build 5540.0)
    Parent: launchd [111]

    PID: 8526
    Event: hang
    Time: 10.79s
    Steps: 68
     
  13. tilenius

    tilenius

    Messages:
    10
    BTW, tried to sample the Parallels process using Activity Monitor. Received this reply:
    "sample cannot examine process 46630 for unknown reasons, even though it appears to exist."

    Pretty darn hung. :-(

    I was able to sample Adobe Acrobat 8.1 WIN XP which was also listed as being hung. Using Activity Monitor on Mac, here's what I got:

    Sampling process 47133 for 3 seconds with 1 millisecond of run time between samples
    Sampling completed, processing symbols...
    Analysis of sampling WinAppHelper (pid 47133) every 1 millisecond
    Call graph:
    2476 Thread_2503
    2476 start
    2476 _start
    2476 main
    2476 SCTool::SCTool()
    2476 SCTool::checkRunningApplication()
    2023 _ESGetVmID(ProcessSerialNumber*, __CFString const**)
    2023 ESSendSimpleEvent(ProcessSerialNumber*, int, AEDesc*)
    2023 AESend
    2023 aeSend
    2023 AESendMessage
    2022 sendToModernProcess(__CFMachPort*, unsigned long, AEDesc const*, long)
    1412 mach_msg
    1412 mach_msg_trap
    1412 mach_msg_trap
    610 usleep$UNIX2003
    610 __semwait_signal
    610 __semwait_signal
    1 AEDisposeDesc
    1 AEDisposeDesc
    453 sleep
    453 nanosleep
    453 mach_wait_until
    453 mach_wait_until

    Total number in stack (recursive counted multiple, when >=5):

    Sort by top of stack, same collapsed (when >= 5):
    mach_msg_trap 1412
    __semwait_signal 610
    mach_wait_until 453
    Sample analysis of process 47133 written to file /dev/stdout


    I was also able to sample LAUNCHD, the parent process of Parallels:

    Sampling process 153 for 3 seconds with 1 millisecond of run time between samples
    Sampling completed, processing symbols...
    Analysis of sampling launchd (pid 153) every 1 millisecond
    Call graph:
    2375 Thread_2503
    2375 start
    2375 main
    2375 launchd_runtime
    2368 mach_msg
    2368 mach_msg_trap
    2368 mach_msg_trap
    5 protocol_vproc_server
    5 _Xlook_up2
    3 job_mig_intran
    3 job_mig_intran2
    3 job_mig_intran2
    3 __sysctl
    3 __sysctl
    2 job_mig_look_up2
    2 bootstrap_look_up
    2 bootstrap_look_up2
    2 vproc_mig_look_up2
    2 mach_msg
    2 mach_msg_trap
    2 mach_msg_trap
    2 launchd_runtime
    2375 Thread_2603
    2375 thread_start
    2375 _pthread_start
    2375 select$DARWIN_EXTSN
    2375 select$DARWIN_EXTSN
    2375 Thread_2703
    2375 thread_start
    2375 _pthread_start
    2375 mport_demand_loop
    2375 mach_msg
    2375 mach_msg_trap
    2375 mach_msg_trap

    Total number in stack (recursive counted multiple, when >=5):

    Sort by top of stack, same collapsed (when >= 5):
    mach_msg_trap 4745
    select$DARWIN_EXTSN 2375
    Sample analysis of process 153 written to file /dev/stdout
     
  14. tilenius

    tilenius

    Messages:
    10
    Sorry, should have said above was LAUNCHD (153). Parent of that was LAUNCHD (1). Here's the sample from that:

    Sampling process 1 for 3 seconds with 1 millisecond of run time between samples
    Sampling completed, processing symbols...
    Analysis of sampling launchd (pid 1) every 1 millisecond
    Call graph:
    2462 Thread_2503
    2462 start
    2462 main
    2462 launchd_runtime
    2461 mach_msg
    2461 mach_msg_trap
    2461 mach_msg_trap
    1 launchd_runtime
    2462 Thread_2603
    2462 thread_start
    2462 _pthread_start
    2462 select$DARWIN_EXTSN
    2462 select$DARWIN_EXTSN
    2462 Thread_2703
    2462 thread_start
    2462 _pthread_start
    2462 mport_demand_loop
    2462 mach_msg
    2462 mach_msg_trap
    2462 mach_msg_trap

    Total number in stack (recursive counted multiple, when >=5):

    Sort by top of stack, same collapsed (when >= 5):
    mach_msg_trap 4923
    select$DARWIN_EXTSN 2462
    Sample analysis of process 1 written to file /dev/stdout


    NOTE: "Parallels Desktop" was noted as (not responding), but LAUNCHD was not listed as hung. Again, I couldn't sample Parallels Desktop. Too darn comatose. Hope this helps. Please let me know whatever other info you need. This spinning beach ball of death is killing me! Thanks!!!
     
  15. tilenius

    tilenius

    Messages:
    10
    Reinstall Of Parallels Does Not Cure Constant Hangs!

    Whatever is causing my hangs, reinstalling Parallels does not cure it.

    As someone suggested here, I used the whole terminal window / "sudo rm..." thing to un-install Parallels, then reinstalled 5540.

    Had a hang after about two hours!!

    HELP! Is anyone from Parallels reading this? Am I the only one who is getting hangs? I have this happening on TWO Mac Pros, hard to believe it's an isolated incident.

    I am completely SOL here. Any workarounds or ideas appreciated. Ditto if there's any info I can give the Parallels team to help them find the bugs -- I'm very willing and motivated to help, just need someone to contact me.

    I've emailed support as well as posted on multiple forums here.

    As you can imagine constantly having the app hang is most distressing. Is anyone looking at the reports I keep sending to Apple? Any ideas?? Is this a known issue scheduled for a fix?

    Please let me know what I can do to help debug this. Very very frustrating to have the whole Parallels application freeze up every couple of hours!!

    Thanks,

    - ERIC -
     
  16. tilenius

    tilenius

    Messages:
    10
    Not sure if this helps, but here's some CONSOLE LOG stuff:

    11/9/07 4:41:27 PM [0x0-0x2e02e].com.parallels.desktop[1171] Fri Nov 9 16:41:27 eric-tilenius-computer.local Parallels[1171] <Error>: CGImageCreate: invalid image size: 0 x 0.
    11/9/07 5:05:33 PM System Preferences[1648] [self _disabledIdentitiesForPicker]:(
    "CC9F1E18-1504-467F-8EBE-963D751EF2D4",
    "ABCDEFAB-CDEF-ABCD-EFAB-CDEF00000050",
    "ABCDEFAB-CDEF-ABCD-EFAB-CDEF0000000C"
    )
    11/9/07 5:09:04 PM System Preferences[1726] [self _disabledIdentitiesForPicker]:(
    "CC9F1E18-1504-467F-8EBE-963D751EF2D4",
    "ABCDEFAB-CDEF-ABCD-EFAB-CDEF00000050",
    "ABCDEFAB-CDEF-ABCD-EFAB-CDEF0000000C"
    )
    11/9/07 5:11:20 PM com.apple.launchd[113] (0x10f900.Locum[1758]) Exited: Terminated
    11/9/07 5:13:17 PM com.apple.launchd[113] (0x10d410.Locum[1774]) Exited: Terminated
    11/9/07 5:16:02 PM com.apple.launchd[113] (0x108a30.Locum[1781]) Exited: Terminated
    11/9/07 5:26:47 PM com.apple.launchd[113] ([0x0-0x26026].com.apple.Safari[480]) Exited: Terminated
    11/9/07 5:26:48 PM AppleSpell[880] *** -[NSMachPort handlePortMessage:]: dropping incoming DO message because the connection or ports are invalid
    11/9/07 5:26:48 PM AppleSpell[880] *** -[NSMachPort handlePortMessage:]: dropping incoming DO message because the connection or ports are invalid
    11/9/07 5:26:48 PM AppleSpell[880] *** -[NSMachPort handlePortMessage:]: dropping incoming DO message because the connection or ports are invalid
    11/9/07 5:26:48 PM AppleSpell[880] *** -[NSMachPort handlePortMessage:]: dropping incoming DO message because the connection or ports are invalid
    11/9/07 5:26:48 PM AppleSpell[880] *** -[NSMachPort handlePortMessage:]: dropping incoming DO message because the connection or ports are invalid
    11/9/07 5:27:36 PM com.apple.launchd[113] ([0x0-0x2e02e].com.parallels.desktop[1171]) Stray process with PGID equal to this dead job: PID 1806 PPID 1 WinAppHelper
    11/9/07 5:27:36 PM com.apple.launchd[113] ([0x0-0x2e02e].com.parallels.desktop[1171]) Stray process with PGID equal to this dead job: PID 1181 PPID 1 WinAppHelper
    11/9/07 5:27:36 PM com.apple.launchd[113] ([0x0-0x2e02e].com.parallels.desktop[1171]) Exited: Killed
     
  17. tilenius

    tilenius

    Messages:
    10
    And here's the hang report:

    Date/Time: 2007-11-09 17:27:28 -0800
    OS Version: 10.5 (Build 9A581)
    Architecture: i386
    Report Version: 4

    Command: Parallels Desktop
    Path: /Applications/Parallels/Parallels Desktop.app/Contents/MacOS/Parallels
    Version: 3.0 (3.0 Build 5540.0)
    Parent: launchd [113]

    PID: 1171
    Event: hang
    Time: 10.01s
    Steps: 70
     
  18. bandelier

    bandelier

    Messages:
    1
    I'm getting this:

    sample cannot examine process 498 for unknown reasons, even though it appears to exist.

    Using build 5160, OS X 10.5. Have Windows XP Pro as my virtual OS, getting the spinning ball of death which forces me to hard-boot my macbook pro every time. I un-installed the VM, reinstalled, same deal. works fine for a while, but then dies after time. kinda bunk, as I forked over $400+ to get this thing running. Parallels want to buy my XP Pro or fix this?
     
  19. Intruder

    Intruder

    Messages:
    5
    Don't you need 5540 to run in Leopard (not 5160)?
     
  20. jmarnell

    jmarnell

    Messages:
    1
    Installation of 5540 with 10.5 Leopard Issues

    Very frustrating.

    I have installed the beta release and still find the Parallels software to be unstable, unreliable, and worrisome.

    When I launch Parallels, it seems to "flicker" few times before the black screen appears starting the Windows Vista (Business) login process. When it loads, Vista seems to work fine and I am able to use both my Mac OS side and Vista side without too much problems. But, when I shut down Windows (from the start menu), that is when it all goes to hell.

    On occasions, the Vista screen just hangs at shut down. When I try and force quit, it takes two or three times to "force quit" before I am successful. Then, when I try and relaunch the Parallels application, I get the "beach ball" spinning with nothing. Time to reboot the machine.

    Upon Rebooting, I find that Parallels will start but my CD/DVD image is gone and I get error messages. Only way to fix it is to go to launch Mac side utilities, launch disk repair utility, run repair permissions, Then, I have to uninstall the Parallels beta application, clear out the folders in the System Library, User Library, System Preferences, User Preferences (with the exception of the Vista folder) and reinstall Parallels Beta. Reboot the mac and relaunch Parallels. Then things work fine for a period of time.

    I am running a MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz, Intel Core 2 duo, 4gig RAM (I have assigned 1.5 gig to Parallels)
     

Share This Page