Activation problem

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Mac' started by alnyden, Dec 22, 2006.

1. alnyden

alnyden Bit poster

I am using Parallels beta 2 with a bootcamp partition for the first time today. Everything is working great, except one problem. When I boot into Parallels, Windows wants to re-activate. When I try to do it, it says it can't because I have reached the max. number of times I can do it. However, I have never tried to reactivate Windows before. Shouldn't I be able to do this?

I read that Parallels had fixed the re-activation issue, but that you had to activate within Parallels once for it to work, and I am not able to do this. Anyone else having this problem? Any solutions out there?

I am using a purchased copy of Windows XP Pro (that came with my Macbook Pro).

Thanks,

Al

2. James Bond 007

James Bond 007 Hunter

You will have to call Microsoft (the phone number should be available on the reactivation screen) and explain to them what you have done, and ask them to provide you a new activation code.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 22, 2006
  3. nycruza

nycruza Hunter

NEVER EVER tell Microsoft anything other then WHAT they ask for!;)

When you dial the number you are asked for the ID code on the screen.
    You read or type it in, and you will be immediately transfered to a real person.
    He/she will ask for the first set of numbers and one question. How many machines is this software installed on. The answer is ONE! :D

You will be put on hold for a few moments and given the code which you enter.

Total time less then 6 minutes.

ajm

4. Cranialstrain

Cranialstrain Bit poster

One quick question, does this mean that when booting back via BC I will need to re-activate again? I need the ability to switch between the two without all this re-activation nightmare. I too thought the guys had fixed this re-activation issue, hope it doesn't become a problem with Vista either.

Cheers,

CS.

5. puckman

puckman Bit poster