Anyone know how to get Office working in Windows (Arm 64)?

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop 16 for M1 Mac Technical Preview' started by KaneF, Dec 18, 2020.

1. KaneF

KaneF Bit Poster

Hi all,

Trying to install Office without much luck. 64-bit version won't install. Tried 32-bit and it's stuck on 'Windows is preparing Office install' that orange box that never progresses. I've read on here that people have installed it succesfully - how please?

Also performance is very sluggish on 8GB M1 MBP. Are all the people saying it is very snappy running on 16GB M1 Pro? I have installed Toolbox.
    Thanks

2. ScottK17

ScottK17 Bit Poster

I didn't think that Microsoft offered Office for the ARM architecture - but I'm happy to have proved myself wrong. I have a Microsoft 365 subscription. I logged into my Microsoft 365 Family account, went to the Installs, and clicked Install Office. I was expecting it to fail, but it actually WORKED. I'm not aware of a way to download the ARM version of the office installer separately, though.
    I was able to successfully open Word and Excel documents from my OneDrive using the INSTALLED versions of both applications, and it worked fine!

The performance is quite acceptable for me, but I'm also running on a Mac mini with 16 GB. At one point I had the Windows VM and four different linux VMs all running at the same time, and the performance was still reasonable - especially for pre-release software. I'm watching Activity Monitor and the entire system is running less than 20% System and 10% user overall.

3. onefish2

onefish2 Bit Poster

Its just the 32 bit version of Office.

4. kundanno

kundanno Bit Poster

Core Office365 apps work well (Word, Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint and OneNote). Teams does not work. Install fails with Java errors.

5. Maria@Parallels

Maria@Parallels Parallels Team

Hey, could you provide us with the detailed error message please? (or screenshot if possible)

6. Giovanni11

Giovanni11 Bit Poster