Debian kernel / paralles-config problems

Discussion in 'Parallels Workstation for Windows and Linux' started by kingdon, Apr 26, 2007.

1. kingdon

kingdon Bit poster

I'm a newbie here and to linux. I'm sorry for the long post but I hope that someone can help get me on the right track.

I come from a Windows/Cygwin environment and would like to move to a primary linux OS with a guest WinXP OS -- I'm hoping to eventually find replacements for all my Windows apps on the linux side.

Here's my problem. I wanted to install the supported/recommended kernel 2.6.8-2-386 on Debian 3.1. I couldn't find an iso for this. So, I found a netinstall iso for 2.6.18-4-686 and thought that I'd start with this kernel and in the worst case I could compile the kernel package for the older kernel and get it running afterwards. Well, I compiled 2.6.8-2-386 but I didn't have any luck getting it to boot (I think this is because I have SATA drives), so I thought I'd just try to install Parallels on my 2.6.18-4.686 kernel.

I followed the installation instructions in the guide and installed Paralles-2.2.2112-lin.deb successfully. My problem comes when I run parallels-config ... I get the message "Unable to find linux kernel source ...", and then I'm offered advice on how to get the kernel source.

So, I followed these instructions. I figure that I should really get the kernel headers for the supported 2.6.8-2-386 and I try "apt-get install kernel-headers-2.6.8-2-386"; response: "Couldn't find package ...". Then I tried ""apt-get install kernel-headers-2.6.18-4-686" to get the headers for my current kernel; response: "Couldn't find package ...".

I guess at this point I'm wondering:

1. Should this be so difficult?
    2. The supported kernels that are listed are so specific: if I can't find it or want to update my kernel in the future will I be able to and will Parallels still function? (if I can get it running in the first place)