Firewire support coming?

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Mac' started by HawaiiMacAddict, Apr 19, 2007.

1. HawaiiMacAddict

HawaiiMacAddict Bit poster

Aloha everyone,

I tried to search the forums for firewire, but I didn't notice anything dealing with Firewire support in Parallels. Has there been any word on when, or if, Parallels will support Firewire?

Let me lay out my situation for you. I have been using my MacBook Pro at work for the past several weeks (I am a contractor with General Dynamics, working on a government contract at the Battle Command Training Center, Hawaii). While I understand that I am technically not allowed to use my personal laptop at work, I developed a an inventory databse in MS Access, primarily using Parallels. My boss has stopped by several times, and is quite impressed with my MacBook Pro - to the extent that he asked me to provide a price quote for the purchase of one for the office (that way I can officially use a Macitosh at work). We also have a Maxtor terabyte drive with Firewire 800, 400, and USB 2.0 ports. I can use the terabyte drive to back up any Access projects I am editing, as well as the source for Ghost sessions. I currently have to boot into Windows via Boot Camp to access the terabyte drive for Ghosting sessions.

The primary question is whether Firewire support is upcoming for Parallels. Secondarily, if anyone has a Maxtor terabyte external HDD, once it is formatted specifically for Windows, knowing that a Macintosh computer can't even mount the drive, can it still be used in Windows via Parallels? I have currently replaced my Wndows laptop with my MacBook Pro, but would like to access the external terabyte HDD while a Mac OS session, rather than booting into Windows.

Mahalo in advance for your responses,

HawaiiMacAddict

2. darkone

darkone Forum Maven