How Do I Burn CDs of MS Word docs?

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Critic Emeritus, Apr 24, 2007.

1. Critic Emeritus

Critic Emeritus Bit poster

Moved from "How to"

I plan to add a fast external USB 2.0 hard drive to my MacBook Pro (2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB HD).

I will be storing hundreds of MS Word 2000 documents, created in the Parallels/XP SP 2 partition, on the external drive.

Though I am not technically savvy, I have successfully installed Parallels Desktop for Mac, the XP OS, my old MS Word 2000 program, and the (Windows-only) Naturally Speaking 9 speech-to-text software which I will be using to archive several decades of aging (hard-to-scan) newspaper clips -- reviews, columns and features.

Now I need -- AND WOULD BE MOST GRATEFUL FOR -- advice from this forum's experienced Parallels users.

How do you install/hook-up an external hard drive on the Mac so it stores data produced within the virtual XP OS?

How do you burn these XP-created MS Word data CDs from such a hard drive? (Or does the CD-burner only work within the Mac OS?)

Thanks, in advance, for any advice or suggestions.

Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2007
  2. Eru Ithildur

Eru Ithildur Forum Maven

How do you store your VM info on an external? Put your .hdd file on the external and point your configuration to the new file path (just change the path of Drive 1).

Easiest way to burn is to just drag your files onto your Mac side, then burn them. Search around if you want to get the burner working on the Windows side. I haven't bothered as it works fine on the Apple side and it is easiest.

3. Critic Emeritus

Thank you, Eru. I am new to discussion groups and that enviablle tech savvy which you exhibit and attribute to me. Could you please explain what you advise in language which your intelligent grandfather might understand. I don't know what an .hdd file is. And I would need detailed instructions on how to perform either fix you describe.