How to install Windows 11 (retail version) [read post #48 first]

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Apple Silicon (M1) Mac' started by MichaelH63, Nov 6, 2021.

  1. ImSeeker

    ImSeeker Bit Poster

    Messages:
    40
    "Unlink from account" is from Microsoft.
    Find my device Remove this device
    Locate this device Unlink from your account

    Name Secondstar-10
    OS Edition Windows 10 Professional
    Version 2009
    OS Build 10.0.19043.1348
    System type Parallels Virtual Platform
    RAM 8 G

    The slmgr /dli command reveals "Retail Channel"
    That said, could I deactivate it AFTER I set it up in Monterey? I'd hate to deactivate, then find it didn't activate anew. (Just being paranoid)

    I assume installing Windows 11 Home can be done without anything else, and there is no cost to move to it?
     
  2. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    690
     
  3. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    690
    The Microsoft website shows you all Windows PCs (or VMs) that you logged into whether they are activated or not. You need to check your activation settings in Windows. On Windows 11 it is Settings - System - Activation - Activation Status and there it should say something like "Windows is activated with a digital license linked to your Microsoft account". I think the path is different on Windows 10, but that is the information you're looking for.

    You can set up your new VM first. If you deactivate Windows 10 first you are less likely to need the troubleshooter, but it is not necessary.

    You can install Windows 11 without any cost. Activating it with your existing Pro key would also be without any cost. I think using the Pro key will automatically upgrade Windows Home to Windows Pro, but I am not certain. If you need a Windows Home key for activation that would obviously have a cost, but should the installation not upgrade to Pro when you use your key, you could always use uupdump to create a Windows 11 Pro iso instead.
     
    ImSeeker likes this.
  4. RickM14

    RickM14

    Messages:
    1
    MichaelH63,
    I followed your instructions listed above and was able to install Windows 11 on my Macbook Pro M1 with no issues.
    Thank you! You saved me a ton of time.
     
    MichaelH63 likes this.
  5. PaulP29

    PaulP29 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    Hallo Michael,

    vielen Dank für die hilfreiche Erklärung. Leider kommt bei mir folgende Fehlermeldung.
    Wenn ich dann klicke - passiert nichts mehr.

    Hast du eine Idee woran das liegt?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    690
    Nach der Fehlermeldung hat das Verzeichnis in dem die Datei liegt Leerzeichen, die entfernt werden müssen.
     
  7. PeterC39

    PeterC39 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    7
    I have Parallels 17.1.1 (51537) running Windows 10 on a 2014 MacBook Air. I only use this to be able to run QuickBooks (QB) 2019 desktop (Canadian) edition. I want to 'move' this all over to my 2021 MacBook Pro M1 Max computer but since my QB is so critical to keep my business running, I need a safety net. I am wishing to actually get both Microsoft, Parallels and QB to somehow cut the electronic link to their MB Air software so that I can then download and run Parallels, Windows 10 (upgraded to Windows 11??) and QB on the new computer. I (obviously) want the security of knowing that if anything goes wrong with this new installation, I can re-link my Air, et al, and keep using QB. Am I right with presuming that when Parallels is installed, that that I can just copy the Windows 10 VM from the Air to the M1 Max and somehow Parallels will recognize it? If the only safe way is to buy another Parallels 17 and Windows 11 outright and hope that the Windows 10 VM will import to my new system, that's going to be rather expensive. Will surely appreciate any guidance and advice readers can offer.
     
  8. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    690
    Unfortunately not. While Parallels recognizes the VM, you can't run it because it's an Intel VM. You will have to create a new Windows 11 VM (which is finally easy to do since Parallels 17.1.1). It's still useful to copy the old VM over because you can transfer data from the old VM to the new one. You don't need to buy another Windows license. Just wait with the activation and see if your QB software works. If it does you can use your old Windows 10 license to activate Windows 11 (if it is a retail license). Just make sure it is linked to your Microsoft account.
     
  9. ARGAS

    ARGAS Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    Hi Everyone,
    Is it possible to buy license for Windows installed via Parallels VM? My normal Windows Pro key is not working.

    Best,
    Karol
     
  10. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    690
    Short answer: Yes, you can buy license keys directly from Microsoft and other places.
    But first, let's try to figure out why your license key isn't working. Could you check what kind of license it is? https://www.windowscentral.com/how-determine-if-license-oem-retail-volume-windows-10
    What error message do you get when you try to use your key?
     
  11. ARGAS

    ARGAS Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    Hi there,
    I am getting error: 0x87E107F9
    Can't find anything related to activation though.
     
  12. ARGAS

    ARGAS Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    and btw I tried two different license types (home and pro and none of them work). I also tried license connected to Microsoft account. Still got the same error code.
     
  13. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    690
    That's not what I meant, though. License types are retail, oem or volume license.
     
  14. ARGAS

    ARGAS Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    I understand. Just wanted to point out that it doesn't matter and there is different sort of problem. Licenses that I was trying were oem and volume.
     
  15. ARGAS

    ARGAS Bit Poster

    Messages:
    16
    UPDATE:
    I don't know what just happened, but it works.
    The only weird thing that after putting slmgr /dli it gives information that it is Windows, Core Edition (RETAIL channel) while in Windows properties it is Windows 11 Home.

    Best,
    Karol
     
  16. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    690
    Yeah, there seems to be a problem with Microsoft's activation servers at the moment. Though the oem and volume licenses could also be a problem. If you already used the oem license on a Windows 10 VM you can't transfer it and with volume licenses there's always the possibility that they will get revoked.
     
    ARGAS likes this.
  17. LisaH9

    LisaH9

    Messages:
    1
    Is there a license now for Windows 11 Home ARM? (M1 Mac)? I'm getting the watermark on the right bottom corner to activate. Before I buy a license, I want to make sure it will apply to the M1 mac on Parallels.
     
  18. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    690
    There is no special license for Windows on ARM. The license you buy can be used for both Intel and ARM. You should be able to use any retail license for Windows Home. If you used a license on Intel Windows before and you no longer need it, it should transfer over to the ARM installation. Just make sure it is linked to your Microsoft account.
     
  19. BrettC4

    BrettC4 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    5
    I purchased a license for Windows 10 and was able to use that activation key to activate Windows 11 in Parallels 17 Desktop on my M1 MacBook Air.
     
  20. StuartM13

    StuartM13 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    I am given a license key from my educational institution. When I put the license key into Windows 11 Home ARM and click Next it says "Upgrade your edition of Windows: Upgrading your edition will add new features to Windows. Before you start, make sure to save your work and close any apps." I am afraid to upgrade if I am going to break anything, I am just happy this is working on my M1 Max but in the lower right corner it is asking me to Activate. Should I press Start and let it upgrade? It does not tell me what it is going to upgrade to. I believe my key is for Windows 11 Education according to the webstore my educational institution made me use to get it. If upgrading is a bad idea, what is the cheapest license I can buy that will keep my system working on Windows 11 ARM (Home or Pro or whatever), and how should I buy it? I don't care if I have to pay for it if it works, but I don't want to pay more than I have to.
     

Share This Page