M1 Mac for Work Critical Machine?

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Apple Silicon (M1) Mac' started by JeffreyG3, Nov 9, 2021.

  1. JeffreyG3

    JeffreyG3 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    Hi All,

    I have been using Parallels on my Mac for years with no problems. I am very much wanting to get an M1 laptop but I have a single App that is work critical and is windows only. Other than that one App, I don't use windows at all. (The App is Encompass360).

    I am wondering what the consensus is; can I risk getting a new MacBook Pro M1 and feel relatively safe that if I just install the default Windows version with Parallels and assuming things are working when first installed can I just pretty much never update Windows to keep things running smoothly or will I be forced to update Windows and be subject to Windows activation expiration? If I don't expire and can tell Windows not to update and just use the virtual machine as described that I can get away with this? I am unclear if you can avoid expiration and updates, etc.?

    Think this is relatively safe to do or too risky?

    Thanks,

    J.
     
    ReneeS1 likes this.
  2. SWANDY

    SWANDY Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    308
    I have also one older program that I need to do bookkeeping and billing for a few organizations. It is Lotus Approach (which IBM discontinued updating years ago.)
    I was warned about going the M1 Mac route - but I have a second iMac that I could use if it didn't work out. The program "ran" on Windows 10 for ARM and now on Windows 11 for ARM. It did not work properly trying on Crossover - well the program and its databases would open but I could not print reports and billing notices. It will run - including printing what I need - under Windows 11 ARM if I keep the screen resolution in Windows below the maximum resolution (strange huh). But if the program is that important - especially for work - I would try to borrow/rent a M1 Mac that has Parallels/Windows 11ARM already installed.
    As far as your other questions - and I am far from a Windows expert at this point in my computer life - I believe you can turn off automatic updates. Don't believe if you have a legal key to do the Windows activation it expires. However, next time Microsoft does a major OS update - like to Windows 12 for example - no one knows how that will work at this point. The Windows 10 to 11 update was free, but who knows what will happen next time.
     
  3. Flinky

    Flinky Bit Poster

    Messages:
    23
    We are in similar situation ... my wife is running AutoCAD for Windows on Parallels/MBP2013, and after 8 very loyal years, she wants to upgrade to a new MBP16 M1Pro.

    Switching to AutoCAD for Mac is not an option. Should we wait for months, until a Windows 11 ARM RC is released to the public? Microsoft mentioned a few weeks ago, that M1 will not officially be supported. I don't want her to be a beta-tester.
     
  4. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    774
    You can already install the retail version of Windows 11 ARM. The only problem is that Microsoft doesn't provide a download to end users and you have to build the iso yourself using uupdump.net. I don't think that will change anytime soon. If Microsoft wanted to change that stupid policy, the release of Windows 11 would have been the perfect opportunity.
    That said, it's not hard to create the iso and Windows 11 works fine on M1. The main problem with Windows on ARM is that you can't use Intel drivers and device manufacturers rarely offer ARM drivers. Therefore some external hardware might not work.
     
    JimB12 likes this.
  5. MikeS39

    MikeS39 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    There is a release version of Windows 11 ARM. You just have to go through a few hoops to build the .ISO using Microsoft's tools. Step by step instructions here: https://forum.parallels.com/threads/how-to-install-windows-11-retail-version.355463/
     
  6. Flinky

    Flinky Bit Poster

    Messages:
    23
    Is the release version without any time limit and ist it supplied with regularly windows updates?

    Why are so many people using the insider preview builts? Is it just because they want to check out new features?
     
  7. MikeS39

    MikeS39 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    I installed it yesterday, so I can't speak to 'is it supplied regularly windows updates', but no surprise, immediately after installing it, there was an update available and being downloaded as soon as I installed it. So, it sure seems to be accepted by Microsoft's update servers.
     
  8. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    774
    The release version is just like the version you would buy if Microsoft would actually sell it to end users. There are regular updates through Windows Update. Build 22000.318 was just released a few days ago.

    The reason so many people use Insider Builds is because that is still the way Parallels recommends and the only way ou can use an iso (or VHDX) that Microsoft provides as a download. And during the Windows 10 days it wasn't possible to use the release version because the builds were so far behind the Dev Channel builds that could run on M1. But with Windows 11 there's no longer a good reason not to use the release version unless you are a developer or want to have the newest features.
     
    Grey Shadow likes this.
  9. Flinky

    Flinky Bit Poster

    Messages:
    23
    I think, there will be no other option than ordering a new M1-MBP16 and try out Win11Pro + Parallels17Pro + AutoCAD for ourselfs ...
    If it doesn't work as expected, we can always return the MacBook to Apple within 14 days ...

    One more question: is it possible to install Paralles 17Pro on two machines with one licence - but only working on one machine at the same time? I think this would be necessary for the next months to have the old MBP2013 ready to go, if the new M1 crashes or refuses to work ...
     
  10. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    774
    You can at least switch once. https://kb.parallels.com/en/123461
    However that dialog option didn't appear for me when I switched from Intel to M1 and I had to contact support to reset my license.
    I would contact Parallels Support and ask them directly if you can switch the activation back and forth between your Macs.
     
  11. Flinky

    Flinky Bit Poster

    Messages:
    23
    hmm, if the license on the MBP2013 will be deactivated, when setting up the MBP M1, then it doesn't seem to be possible to have a "ready to go"-backup-machine with just one Parallels license.

    So what I could do ist setting up the MBP M1 with a Parallels 17.1 14-days-trial and install/test Windows 11 ARM + AutoCAD/AddOn. If everything runs fine and looks good, I can activate the P17Pro license on the MBP M1 and buy another 1-time-purchase license for the old MBP2013. I hope this downgrade from Pro to Standard on my existing virtual machine is not a problem ...
     

Share This Page