My Full Screen is Not Full Screen Anymore.

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Mac' started by Jim Waugh, Jun 9, 2006.

1. Jim Waugh

Jim Waugh Bit poster

I am new to Parallels Desktop and my new MacBook 2.0 GHz, 1 gig memory and 80 gig HD with the newest version of OS X for dual intels with your latest Parallels for Desktop for Mac installed.

My Parallels install went like all Mac installs and it seems to start up just fine.

Going from the windowed VM on the Mac desktop to full screen and back again is not working as advertised.

To start with, I noticed that it started coming back to the Mac desktop from the full screen mode, which was running full screen as advertised, with the VM screen much larger than the window for it and this window is the correct size at about half of the size of the Mac desktop. I would have to use the mouse to drag the VM around in the window to access the controls.

Currently, the VM starts up just fine but when I go to full screen, what I see momentarily is a full screen which disappears and the half screen VM window appears with everything outside of that being black. When I switch back to the window on the Mac desktop it comes back to the desktop and normal size VM window.

I have searched this forum and did not see any other postings about or similar to this with the problem being that I can't get full screen even when I switch to full screen.

I have deleted my VM a couple of times to wipeout a bad install of WIN98SE and then go with a new VM and reinstall of windows.

So, not being a techie, is this a corrupted Parallels installation or maybe something that you are working on. How do I go about getting it to work normally again? My hope is that I won't have to reinstall windows again, if that is possible.

Thanks for your attention.

2. tacit_one

tacit_one Pro

Jim,
    it's not easy to understand the problem.

Can you please provide some screenshots of what's happening wrong ?

3. Jim Waugh

Jim Waugh Bit poster