Parallels 3 And Fusion Beta 4 Will Not Run At The Same Time

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Mac' started by infomatique, Jun 8, 2007.

  1. infomatique

    infomatique Bit Poster

    Messages:
    8
    I made the mistake of upgrading to Parallels 3 and Vmware Fusion Beta 4 at the same time and now I cannot run both at the same time. I am using an 8 core Mac Pro and upon starting the secone application (either Parallels or fusion) I get message saying that it is necessary to restart the machine. Is anyone aware of a fix for this problem?

    Both products are excellent and having purchase Parallels I also intend to buy VMWare fusion when the retail version becomes available. I will be very disappointed if I cannot get both to run together on the same machine.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2007
  2. mattfreeman

    mattfreeman

    Messages:
    56
    on my 4 core mac. If parallels is working and then Fusion 4 is started (and a vm launched).

    Then the machine gives a kernel panic.

    panic.log indicates that it is parallels that crashed the machine and not fusion.
     
  3. dkp

    dkp

    Messages:
    1,367
    They run fine side by side on my MBP with 2g RAM.
     
  4. infomatique

    infomatique Bit Poster

    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the information ... I did not have time to investigate or check the logs. Up until the upgrades there was no problem running both.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2007
  5. AlanH

    AlanH Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    316
    I get a kernel panic too. 4-core, 4 GByte Mac Pro.

    I tried twice. Dual core mode in Fusion, with Parallels launched first, then single core mode Fusion launched first. Both times it panicked, both times com.parallels.kext.vmmain was named in the panic log.
     
  6. infomatique

    infomatique Bit Poster

    Messages:
    8
    It would apprat that it is a Parallels problem:
    *********

    Fri Jun 8 23:27:20 2007
    panic(cpu 3 caller 0x00A550CC): bad context (0x0_01280000, 0x0_12435000).
    Backtrace, Format - Frame : Return Address (4 potential args on stack)
    0x87981e34 : 0x128d08 (0x3cb134 0x87981e58 0x131de5 0x0)
    0x87981e74 : 0xa550cc (0xa57f28 0x0 0x1280000 0x0)
    0x87981eb4 : 0xa550e5 (0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0)
    0x87981f24 : 0xa55386 (0x87981fb0 0x1 0x0 0x0)
    0x87981f54 : 0xa556db (0x87981fb0 0x87981f88 0x0 0x0)
    0x87981fa4 : 0xa52345 (0x87981fb0 0x8f 0x0 0xffffff80)
    0x87981fb0 : 0x0 (0xffffff80 0x0 0x1003b 0x0) Backtrace terminated-invalid frame pointer 0x8f
    Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
    com.parallels.kext.vmmain(2.2)@0xa4e000

    Kernel version:
    Darwin Kernel Version 8.9.2: Thu Feb 22 18:08:23 PST 2007; root:xnu-792.19.2~1/RELEASE_I386


    *********
     
  7. AlanH

    AlanH Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    316
    I plan to revert to Parallels 2.5 at some stage. When I do I'll repeat the experiment to see if this is a 3.0-specific problem.
     
  8. infomatique

    infomatique Bit Poster

    Messages:
    8
    There is a thread about this issue at VMWARE forums and the opinion expressed there is that it is A parellels problem. Let me know the outcome when you revert to an older version. As stated elsewhere I really would like to have both products co-exist.
     

Share This Page