Ports for accessing PC

Discussion in 'Accessing your PC' started by DmitriD, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. DmitriD

    DmitriD

    Messages:
    1
    Hi guys.
    Do you know which ports have to be open for PC access?

    Thank you
     
  2. JoshFu

    JoshFu

    Messages:
    4
    I am able to use my iPad3 to connect to my PC (Windows7) but when try to launch an application I'm getting a Parallels error message which says "The required network ports are closed. Please contact your Internet provider or sysadmin to resolve the issue." There is a "Read More" button but when I select it, it brings me to a Parallels web page that is not valid (page no longer there).

    I am the sysadmin and can open the ports but I can't seem to find the documentation on which ports are required. Documentation would be appreciated.
     
  3. JoshFu

    JoshFu

    Messages:
    4
    TCP 19294 & TCP 19295

    I found this by doing the following:

    In the iPad main Settings tile at the very bottom of the left frame there is a menu for Access. I enabled "Use Detailed Log Messages".

    Tried the connection and it failed.

    On the iPad app, there is a little envelope in the upper right corner. When you press that, it will draft and email to Parallels support. There are two files attached to it which contain log files. I changed the address to be a personal email account and when the message was delivered, I reviewed the log files. There were several references to connections to my PC from an external IP address on those ports so I thought I'd take a crack at creating a rule in my FW. Once I did, it worked!
     
  4. Neil-B

    Neil-B

    Messages:
    3
    Same problem here, tried the ports listed below in windows firewall and it didn't resolve the issue for me.
     
  5. JoshFu

    JoshFu

    Messages:
    4
    Try TCP & UDP
     
  6. Neil-B

    Neil-B

    Messages:
    3
    Yeah, I thought about that too, didn't help. I'm not sure my problem is quite the same, when I first install on an iPad Mini, and Win7 (64bit) I can connect to the computer, and see the list of applications. If I select something like Word or something super simple like Wordpad then it hangs at the spinner and eventually gives the Unable to Connect. I even see Wordpad properly pop open on the PC, but the display never comes up on the iPad.
     
  7. JoshFu

    JoshFu

    Messages:
    4
    That was exactly what mine was doing before I made the firewall change. Note: I updated our corporate perimeter firewall policy, not the PC's Windows firewall.
    I allowed outbound 19294 and 19295 and it worked the very next time.
     
  8. Neil-B

    Neil-B

    Messages:
    3
    Ah, interesting. And you had to set it as outbound on the perimeter. I'll try that later today.

    Regards,
    Neil
     
  9. JimMac

    JimMac

    Messages:
    2
    I read that TCP 19294 & 19295 are minimal. For full, you need to also open up UDP on these ports & UDP on 19302. All in both directions.

    My question is, can I limit the Internet side? IOW, I don't want any device on the Internet to come through these ports, just those that are going through Parallels cloud servers.
     

Share This Page