Setting Up for WinXP

Discussion in 'Windows Guest OS Discussion' started by jaysch, Aug 21, 2007.

  1. jaysch

    jaysch

    Messages:
    4
    I'm a newbie to Parallels so please excuse my ignorance. I've used VM Ware on a PC so I'm familiar with virtualization technology.

    I have a new MacBook Pro with 4gigs of memory and the 160, 7200 rpm internal drive along with 1.5 tb of external eSATA storage. I'd like to know the typical setup and install scenario for a XP Pro.

    Specifically what are the general steps and in what order? I assume it's something like:

    1. Install Parallels
    2. Create a Windows partition & format - NTFS?
    3. Install WinXP (via Parallels)

    I do mostly .Net web design and development using DreamWeaver, VisualStudio 2005, CS3, etc. but will also do post production using FinalCut Pro 6. So, I'm moving more toward the Mac side of things but I’m a little concerned about having sufficient resources to run, let's say Visual Studio on the PC side and CCS on the Mac at the same time. I'm OK with using Boot Camp but people keep telling me I should just run Paralles. I assume I can use either Boot Camp or Paralles if I choose?

    Any advise would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Stan O

    Stan O Parallels Team

    Messages:
    58
    Hello!
    The process of installing Windows in Parallels Desktop is even simpler than that!
    1. Download and install the latest build.
    2. Run Parallels Desktop and activate (either trial or a full key)
    3. When you do, the New VM Assistant will pop up and will totally guide you through the installation process (in case you use the Express installation for Windows, you'd only have to enter the Windows activation key and insert the installation CD - Parallels Desktop will perform all the installation routines itself).
    You can evaluate Parallels Desktop for 2 weeks and see if the developing environment of your choice functions as you want it to in Parallels.
    Also, you can use your existing BootCamp partition as a virtual machine in Parallels, so you get to run both OSes simultaneously.
    Please, feel free to ask me any further questions either here or in a PM.
    Thanks!
     
  3. jaysch

    jaysch

    Messages:
    4
    Stan,

    Thanks for the useful info. I’m a correct in assuming that if I want the option of running XP in Parallels or fully booted to XP via BootCamp, that I would first create a normal Windows partition, install WinXP conventionally and then have Parallels do a VM installation of WinXP?

    Thanks,

    - Jay
     
  4. devoman

    devoman

    Messages:
    4
    Using transporter

    Stan,

    Could you clarify one thing? If you use transporter to move a system from a Windows machine, do you need the installation disks? I'd be moving my system from a ThinkPad running Windows XP and don't have the installation disks as Windows came pre-installed (which is the usual situation).

    Thanks!
     
  5. Stan O

    Stan O Parallels Team

    Messages:
    58
    Hi!
    You will not be needing Windows XP installation CD if you use the Transporter to create a new virtual machine.
     
  6. devoman

    devoman

    Messages:
    4
    Thank you very much!
     
  7. khedron

    khedron

    Messages:
    9
    Stan,

    Question for you. I did exactly what this poster wants to do, except with a Dell instead of a ThinkPad. Transporter seemed to work great. When it tried to activate, however, it failed. I called the Microsoft number, and was told that OEM versions of Windows, like the one that came pre-installed on my Dell, can't be reactivated on new hardware platforms.

    Yes, I bought a new standalone copy of Windows XP, but what I'm really after here is getting all my files from my old computer, registry settings and all, onto a virtual machine on my mac. Is that possible?
     
  8. Stan O

    Stan O Parallels Team

    Messages:
    58
    Hi!
    Sorry this resulted in such inconvenience to you.
    I am not completely sure, but I suppose you could use the WindowsXP repair procedure from http://kb.parallels.com/entry/63/336/ with your new standalone copy of Windows XP. This should keep all of your settings and data alive but substitute the old OEM license with the new one.
    Be sure to back up your VM before you try going this way.
    Thanks!

     
  9. khedron

    khedron

    Messages:
    9
    This appears to have worked! It took a long time, and there were several glitches, but it did work.

    Areas which could use improvement:
    1. The instructions on the page you cited don't stress that you have to choose "setup" and then "repair", not go into the "recovery console", after booting off of the XP disk.
    2. At some point the Parallels Tools tried to install, during the Windows setup. Needless to say, this failed. And, it blocked a dialog I had to interact with for some time.
    3. The instructions also don't stress that you have to choose the option which lets you enter in a new product key. Fortunately, I knew that was what I was after, and also I'd read this:

    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

    So, it appears to be awfully slow (taking up 90% of a C2D 2.33GHz MBP in order to crawl along), but it did work! Hopefully performance will change over time (and updates).
     
  10. khedron

    khedron

    Messages:
    9
    It turns out the slowness was caused by doing "Install Parallels Tools", perhaps at the wrong time. Once I cancelled that, things were much zippier.

    Thanks again!
     
  11. bick4d

    bick4d

    Messages:
    14
    Unable to use Link to Upgrade to 3.0

    Sorry for initiating a new thread this way but Parallels is unresponsive
    I have been unable to upgrade having paid for the PD 3.0 software and recieved both the password and the back up CD.
    I have been asking for a PD 3.0 disk so I can load it since whenever I use the link provided it does not work. Says it is not valid !
    I continue to have to resort to a PC since when I installed the trial for 3.0 it whiped out my original Parallels Desktop on the Mac.
    Parallels has not responded to my request in the past two days. Previously they sent me the link that does not work
    If you are able to respond please email me at Chris_bickford_americon@earthlink.net
    Again sorry for this intrusion
    Thank you

    zPlease click one of the Quick Reply icons in the posts above to activate Quick Reply.
     
  12. David5000

    David5000

    Messages:
    312
    You haven't initiated a new thread--you have just tacked a message onto an old, abandoned thread that has nothing to do with your topic.

    To start a new thread, after you log in, click on the appropriate forum you want to post in and then click on the round orange Thread/Thread Starter button with a plus sign in it.

    David
     
  13. bick4d

    bick4d

    Messages:
    14
    HELP w/3.0 Upgrade Download or Disk

    Sorry for not being able to intiate a new thread. I see no tab for " start new thread "
    I would never have upgraded had I know this software company would give up on me !
    Perhaps you can post this as " new thread " ?

    I have been unable to upgrade having paid for the software and recieved both the password and the back up CD.

    I have been asking for a disk so I can load it since whenever I use the link provided it does not work for me.

    I continue to have to resort to a PC since when I installed the trial for 3.0 it whiped out my original Parallels Desktop.

    Parallels has not responded to my request in the past THREE days.

    If you are able to respond please email me at Chris_bickford_americon@earthlink.net
    Thank you
     
  14. David5000

    David5000

    Messages:
    312
    There is no tab, but a button. Here is how to start a new thread:

    1) Log in to Parallels Support Forum at <http://forum.parallels.com>

    2) Click on the appropriate forum for your thread--in your case, probably General Questions.

    3) At the top of the list of threads, under the heading "General Questions," there is an orange button and the words, "Thread / Thread Starter". Click on the orange button to start a new thread.

    Report back here to verify that you were successful.

    David
     
  15. Revell

    Revell

    Messages:
    5
    khedron : I am trying to do the same thing you had accomplished and running into a problem - Exactly what is your standalone windows xp disk? I have a clean windows xp installation disk, and apparently it is not bootable thru a parallels xp VM transported from my windows xp machine. I tested if it's bootable on the PC and yes it is, and comes up with three options: Set up Windows XP, Repair a Windows XP installation, or Quit Setup.
     
  16. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels

    Messages:
    6,343
    Why not to try ISO image installation?

    1. Insert CD/DVD source

    2. Open Terminal, you can then determine the device that is you CD/DVD drive using the following command:

    $ drutil status
    Vendor Product Rev
    MATSHITA DVD-R UJ-835E GAND

    Type: DVD-ROM Name: /dev/disk1
    Cur Write: 8x DVD Sessions: 1
    Max Write: 8x DVD Tracks: 1
    Overwritable: 00:00:00 blocks: 0 / 0.00MB / 0.00MiB
    Space Free: 00:00:00 blocks: 0 / 0.00MB / 0.00MiB
    Space Used: 364:08:27 blocks: 1638627 / 3.36GB / 3.13GiB
    Writability:
    Book Type: DVD-ROM

    3. Umount the disk with the following command:

    $ diskutil unmountDisk /dev/disk1
    Disk /dev/disk1 unmounted

    4. Create the ISO file with the dd utility (may take some time):

    $ dd if=/dev/disk1 of=file.iso bs=2048

    5. Test the ISO image by mounting the new file (or open with Finder):

    $ hdid file.iso
     

Share This Page