SQL Server Update to Install on Windows for Arm

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Apple Silicon (M1) Mac' started by Mundford, May 13, 2021.

Tags:
  1. BlakeC2

    BlakeC2 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    After facing the 4096 byte sector size bug in windows 11 I figured out how to create a VHD disk that solved that particular issue. SQL Server 2019 unfortunately would go all the way through and fail on the last step though. Eventually gave up and installed 32 bit version of SQL Server 2014. That'll have to do for now until an actual fix can be found.

    If only I could find that Windows 10 Insider preview, seems Microsoft removed it from their servers unfortunately.
     
  2. GiuseppeS7

    GiuseppeS7 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    Hi all,
    please parallels provide a working image of windows 10 on arm for install sql server 2019, the iso creato cmd doesn't work in my case.
    help is appreciated, thanks in advance, if the sql works i will buy parallels, actually i have a trial.
     
  3. MichaelH63

    MichaelH63 Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    775
    I think there is no working image Parallels could provide without getting in potential legal trouble. The retail/OEM version of Windows 10 doesn't run on M1. The Dev Channel builds haven't been updated since May 2021 and are obviously no longer secure. Even if Microsoft would tolerate Parallels hosting old Windows 10 Dev Channel builds, knowingly hosting vulnerable builds of Windows 10 would be a huge legal risk.
     
  4. SaikatD1

    SaikatD1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Sir Please help to solve this issue...........

    We are unable to install SQL Server 2019 (Express or Standard) in the following scenario:
    - MacBook Pro / 2021 Model
    - Windows 11 Pro (downloaded the ARM based not x86, which is the right version for my Macbook Pro M1)
     
  5. BabaiG

    BabaiG Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Hi.....
    Anyone can help to install SQL Server 2019 (Express or Standard) on MacBook Pro / 2021 Model.
    Please help !!!!!!!!!
     
  6. ArvindA

    ArvindA Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    My comments:
    - Create a VHD Disk - same results as you - SQL Server 2019 fails
    - My application will work only on SQL Server 2010 (lower versions will not work for me)
    - Can we all not escalate this to Microsoft (after all, Windows 11 and SQL Server 2019 are both their products)
     
    StephenD8 likes this.
  7. ArvindA

    ArvindA Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    I suggest all of us start to write in to Microsoft immediately
    - Windows 11 and SQL Server 2019 are both their products
    - Microsoft should be able to fix this fairly quickly
     
    StephenD8 likes this.
  8. Flinky

    Flinky Bit Poster

    Messages:
    23
    The problem is, there soon may be a fix that makes the SQL-Server run ... but M$ will surely not guarantee, that the servers and databases will run reliable and stable, as long ARM/M1 are not officially supported.

    Also the Qualcomm-deal may be a problem, when it comes to official support for M1.

    We also needed SQL 2019 Express for a working machine, but we returned the M1 and bought a new MBP2019 i9 ... because an unreliably working-machine is worthless ...
     
  9. ArvindA

    ArvindA Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    What a shame! I would really like to use SQL Server 2019 on the M1 Mac and enjoy the speed and 64GB RAM
    - if you have any other tips, would greatly appreciate it
     
  10. asocial-duck

    asocial-duck Bit Poster

    Messages:
    6
    Thank you so much bro. SQL 2014, 32 bit version is working perfectly on my "M1 mac, 2020". 2019 version is still not working.
     
  11. StephenD8

    StephenD8 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    WOW and I mean WOW64. How did you get past the Global Rules check failure for WOW64. Fails for me.
     
  12. ShanilK

    ShanilK Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Thank You Mundford,

    Finally it's works for me. ( But SQL Server express 2014 32 bit )
     
  13. ShanilK

    ShanilK Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    M1 MacBook Pro-2021 only support SQL server express 2014 32 bit. It will work definitely.

    I installed in my brand new MacBook Pro with Windows 11 Arm64. There is no issue in above mentioned sql version.
     
  14. StephenD8

    StephenD8 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Interesting.. how did you get around the WOW64 rule check
    ---------------------------
    Rule Check Result
    ---------------------------
    Rule "Edition WOW64 platform" failed.

    SQL Server Setup is not supported in WOW64. This setup program can be run only on a 32-bit system.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------
     
  15. m.aLiY

    m.aLiY Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    From where did you get the windows 10 build 21354? I am unable to find it from https://uupdump.net/. I mean it is listed there but when I execute the script it get following message,
    'Unable to retrieve data from Windows Update servers. Reason: EMPTY_FILELIST'

    I really need SQL server 64 bit, 2012 onward. Any help please... :(:(:(.
    @MrTea if have success on that can you please update your parallel version somewhere?
     

    Attached Files:

    NMENDES likes this.
  16. m.aLiY

    m.aLiY Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    Which version of SQL Server you installed?
     
  17. KeithB10

    KeithB10 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    Please help !!! my account software must use SQL server how did you connect docker (MacOS) from parallels desktop (Windows)? i checked the ip address everything is connect but why it wont connect? Does it need port forwarding? Please do some showcase, i can paid for that
     

    Attached Files:

  18. KeithB10

    KeithB10 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    Can please do a guide how to setup? my work account software needed it
     
  19. NMENDES

    NMENDES Bit Poster

    Messages:
    9
    Hello, try with the name of the MacBook Pro, you can see in Preferences|Share. Mine works pretty well this way
     
    KeithB10 likes this.
  20. KeithB10

    KeithB10 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    yes it worked, i use netstat view the internal ip that connect mac and parallels desktop no idea use the macbook pro name also work thanks mate!
     
    DeepakarR likes this.

Share This Page