WINXP name resolution for HTTP from OSX (Safari or Firefox)

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Mac' started by makahuhu, Nov 13, 2006.

1. makahuhu

makahuhu Bit poster

I am a UI web developer (CSS/XHTML) for a media sharing service. I use Parallels to emulate our development and hosting environment, and am able to test our service using all the major browsers of today... Safari, FF 1.5 - 2.0 (OSX and Windows), IE6 and IE7... on a stand alone machine MacBook Pro... something I was unable to do with a lone Windows box (and please, don't reply with anything about SWIFT.ORG... the webkit rendering engine for CSS/XHTML and JavaScript just isn't ready yet... although I applaud the concept if they continue to build it).

So far, I've been tweaking my development environment to hit my WINXP Paralles by IP address (from OSX and Windows)... which has worked great!

However, because I move around and work in multiple offices and Internet cafes, this always requires me to sit down for about 10 min and reconfigure an number of config files, shared drives, etc.. to use the new DHCP IP address for the WINXP virtual on Parallels (which is a drag).

I've been testing with a method, which is to hit my WINXP Parallels by machine name (i.e. WINXP). This works great on the from the Windows side, and I'm able to map an administrative share (C$) to the WINXP virtual from the finder using:

smb://winxp/c$

this way I can dev from Dreamweaver on my MacBook.

However... I'm having a problem hitting my WINXP virtual through HTTP ?!?

I've exhausted a number of system settings both on the OSX and WINXP side (disabling the firewall, opeing up port 80, host header files, etc.), but I'm unable resolve the WINXP machine name through HTTP! My understanding is that this works through SMB because of Rondevu. I tried mucking around with the Directory Access app in the Utilities folder... however, because we don't have a WINS server, I don't believe that would work.