[SOLVED] Cannot seem to update display resolution in Windows 10

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by ChrisJ7, Feb 8, 2017.

1. ChrisJ7

ChrisJ7 Bit poster

Hi!
    I'm pretty new to Parallels so I might just be missing something here. I have installed an eval copy of Windows 10 and the resolution within the system is set to 1024 x 768 and I'm unable to update it in the system preferences. I want to set it up to be the same size as my retina screen or any other external monitor I attach. In Windows Display Preferences, under the adapter type it says I have the "Microsoft Basic Display Adapter" and under Monitor it states that I have the "Generic Non-PnP Monitor".

For you reference here are my MBP specs:

[​IMG]
    Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Chris

2. PaulChristopher@Parallels

PaulChristopher@Parallels Product Expert Staff Member

Hi Chris,
    A new option was introduced in Parallels Desktop 12 for Mac to work with the virtual machine on multiple displays with Retina: Best for external displays.
    When this option is enabled, Windows manages resolution and DPI settings separately on every display. To enable this option"
    Open virtual machine configuration window > Hardware > Graphics.
    Set resolution setting to Best for external displays.
    [​IMG]
    NOTE: Windows will log off to apply the new settings (when running).

3. ChrisJ7

ChrisJ7 Bit poster

Thanks for your response. I'm actually already using that option. The real issue here is that in windows I can't update my resolution beyond 1024 x 768. See the greyed out portion of the preferences below:

Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 2.49.18 AM.png