I the past week, I have performed a successful erase/install upgrade of Mac OS 10.5 "Leopard" on my MacBook, and now also have Parallels and Windows XP running as well, thanks in no small part to the diligent help of contributors to these forums.
One of the reasons I wanted to upgrade to Leopard was to avail myself to the Time Machine feature for automated backups. I've also procured an Apple "Time Capsule" for these backups.
In the case of this MacBook, I performed the initial backup through an ethernet connection, which is considerably faster than my household's 802.11g WiFi network. I figured that once the first big backup was done, I could use the WiFi for subsequent backups which would be considerably smaller than the first 100+GB backup.
This morning, I ran Windows for the first time in about a week (and the more I see of Windows now, the more I hate it...). I finished the work I had to do in Windows and closed Parallels desktop.
Nevertheless, I see that Time Machine is now trying to perform a backup of some 30.1 GB, which I am guessing represents the partition created when I started Parallels and Windows. And since it is performing this backup via wireless, it's going to take a coupla/few hours.
What I don't understand is: why the need to do this backup of 30GB a) if I've closed Parallels and b) if the winxp.hdd partition in the "Parallels" folder in "Documents" has already been backed up? Isn't that winxp.add folder the XP partition? Isn't it already backed up? Why does Time Machine think it has to back it up again?
Time Machine strikes me as pretty much "Backups for Dummies" -- it's egregiously lacking in options (like what files to backup, how often, incremental - differential, etc.). But at least it's fully automated, and thanks to the wireless capability I can put the Time Capsule in the basement where it should be safe if my house burns down (perish the thought).
But I would really rather not backup the Windows partition if it has already been backed up by separate means.
Anybody got any other experience with Time Machine as it pertains to running Parallels and a Windows partition who can offer any advice?
Thanks,
--PS
One of the reasons I wanted to upgrade to Leopard was to avail myself to the Time Machine feature for automated backups. I've also procured an Apple "Time Capsule" for these backups.
In the case of this MacBook, I performed the initial backup through an ethernet connection, which is considerably faster than my household's 802.11g WiFi network. I figured that once the first big backup was done, I could use the WiFi for subsequent backups which would be considerably smaller than the first 100+GB backup.
This morning, I ran Windows for the first time in about a week (and the more I see of Windows now, the more I hate it...). I finished the work I had to do in Windows and closed Parallels desktop.
Nevertheless, I see that Time Machine is now trying to perform a backup of some 30.1 GB, which I am guessing represents the partition created when I started Parallels and Windows. And since it is performing this backup via wireless, it's going to take a coupla/few hours.
What I don't understand is: why the need to do this backup of 30GB a) if I've closed Parallels and b) if the winxp.hdd partition in the "Parallels" folder in "Documents" has already been backed up? Isn't that winxp.add folder the XP partition? Isn't it already backed up? Why does Time Machine think it has to back it up again?
Time Machine strikes me as pretty much "Backups for Dummies" -- it's egregiously lacking in options (like what files to backup, how often, incremental - differential, etc.). But at least it's fully automated, and thanks to the wireless capability I can put the Time Capsule in the basement where it should be safe if my house burns down (perish the thought).
But I would really rather not backup the Windows partition if it has already been backed up by separate means.
Anybody got any other experience with Time Machine as it pertains to running Parallels and a Windows partition who can offer any advice?
Thanks,
--PS