Before installing 5, don't want to lose files from 3

SethH

Bit poster
I've had Parallels 3 for a few years and am very happy with it. I made a big mistake and bought Parallels 5 and downloaded it. Before I install it, I want to make sure I don't lose my files in Parallels 3. I'm worried because Parallels 5 says it will remove Parallels 3.
Well, I've spend about 3 hours trying to get an answer to this simple question, and have gotten nowhere with Parallels. Their chat is too busy to answer, I can't ask them a question without knowing the "build number" (which I can't get until I install Parallels 5 which I'm afraid to do, etc. Their customer support is the worst I have ever seen in my decades of buying computer programs.
So, if anyone know the answer to this question, "How do I keep my files from Parallels 3," I will be very grateful.
 
Hello SethH,

Please do not worry about the files which are in Parallels Desktop version 3.

It will be perfectly safe even if you uninstall Parallels Desktop version 3 and install version 5.

It will only remove the application Parallels and not the Windows. The same Windows will be carried forward with Parallels version 5 along with all your files.

Also while converting, it will also ask you to make a backup of the version 3 hard disk in the original state.

So it is perfectly safe to go ahead and do the conversion of version 3 to version 5.

Thank you.
 
I've just upgraded from 3 to 5. After installation, the backup files are still in the folders. Should I delete this file? This folder takes up over 26 gigs.
 
Back
Top