Allow bulk deletion of snapshots

Discussion in 'Parallels Desktop for Mac Feature Suggestions' started by StefanoD1, May 11, 2017.

  1. StefanoD1

    StefanoD1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    Hi,
    i think that could be a great feature the capability of delete all snapshots before a certain snapshot.
    It could be the "complementary" feature of deleting snapshot and all following snapshots.
    Thanks in advance
     
    WouterS1, TimothyS4, ReneD1 and 6 others like this.
  2. Ajith@Parallels

    Ajith@Parallels Parallels Support

    Messages:
    1,835
    Yes, it would be great. If there is an option "Delete previous snapshots and create New" similar to "Take Snapshot" in Parallels Desktop.
     
  3. KorkyPlunger

    KorkyPlunger Bit Poster

    Messages:
    72
    I often build up a series of many snapshots over time, to the point where I have 500-700GB of data to erase. Currently I have to select a snapshot one at a time, delete it, and then wait (often 1 minute or more) until it finishes before I can delete the next.

    It would save me a lot of time if I could just multiple-select the snapshots I wanted to erase, and then Parallels would automate the deletion of them in order.
     
  4. MaxI

    MaxI Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    I completely agree with this. Currently it takes me around 7 minutes to delete a single snapshot. I have a bunch of them.
     
  5. Alfena@Parallels

    Alfena@Parallels Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    445
    Hello All,
    You can try to merge all snapshots as one by following the steps provided below and then delete the snapshot

    1.In Mac OS X, go to Applications > Utilities and launch Terminal.
    Paste the command below into Terminal as is (do not hit Enter yet):

    prl_disk_tool merge --hdd

    Find your virtual machine in Finder. Right click on the .pvm file of your virtual machine and choose Show Package Contents.

    Drag your WindowsXXX.hdd file into Terminal and drop it inside the window. In Terminal you will see a similar outcome: prl_disk_tool merge --hdd /Users/Username/Documents/Parallels/Windows\ 7.pvm/Windows\ 7-0.hdd

    Please note there should be a space between --hdd and /Users/Username... Press Enter key to start merging Snapshots. Once this is done, try to compress virtual hard disk again.
    2. Now if you go to Actions > Manage snapshot, you will find only one snapshot and you can delete it if you do not want it.
    We would strongly recommend you to take a back of virtual machine before you delete snapshots.
    Thanks
     
  6. KorkyPlunger

    KorkyPlunger Bit Poster

    Messages:
    72
    I think what people are asking for here is a way to do this interactively within the Manage Snapshots dialog.
     
  7. alexg

    alexg Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    543
    Good FR! Thank you guys!
     
  8. WouterS1

    WouterS1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    1
    I have auto-snapshotting enabled and that creates a lot of snapshots in a short time. Now I have over 40 snapshots.

    Deleting them all is hell, takes long, and just not productive.

    Allow us to:
    - Delete all snapshots except the last
    - Select multiple snapshots and delete those
    - Select 1 snapshot and delete that + all older

    Snapshots take up a lot of space, so much of my time goes to waste on this cumbersome interface (which hasn;t changed really in the last few years!!)
     
  9. DaveP3

    DaveP3

    Messages:
    1
    I totally agree. How hard could it be to allow users to select a set of snapshots to delete???
     
  10. alev

    alev Parallels Developers

    Messages:
    278
    For bulk delete please use the context menu item: Delete Snapshot and Its Subsequent Snapshots.

    We understand that in some cases it is not the optimal solution. So this feature request remains here for such cases.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. KorkyPlunger

    KorkyPlunger Bit Poster

    Messages:
    72
    @alev I believe you misunderstood the request. This is a request for deleting a snapshot and all previous snapshots. The current functionality only allows deleting a snapshot and its subsequent snapshots.
     

Share This Page