Altium Designer 18 in Windows 10 Edu

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by JamieS73, Sep 7, 2018.

1. JamieS73

JamieS73 Junior Member

Hi all, I'm new to Parallels.

I have a Windows 10 Edu guest OS running Altium Designer 18 (v8.1.6). Everything works except horizontal scrolling. Scrolling vertically works, but when I press shift (or alt, depending on the keybind) it breaks.

I submitted tech support request to Altium, but they think it's an issue with the VM and aren't taking any responsibility. I also read in a different post that AD18 uses DirectX. I don't know much about DirectX, but could that be causing my horizontal scroll function to fail?

2. DeanP3

DeanP3 Bit poster

I have the same problem. Shift scroll sort of works but it gives me some combination of horizontal scrolling, vertical scrolling, and zooming. Instead I use the right mouse button (or two-fingers on the track-pad). Hold down and you can drag horizontal and vertical.

3. JamieS73

JamieS73 Junior Member

A Parallels rep told me it's because my license level doesn't support "heavy graphics" programs. I don't believe that, but I never found a solution. I have since reinstalled Altium Designer 17 to get smoother graphics performance. The trackpad scrolls much too slow, so I use a mouse. It works but isn't ideal.

4. Arun@Parallels

Arun@Parallels Parallels Support

Hi @JameiS73, please let us know the edition of Parallels Desktop you are using.

5. DansonC

DansonC Bit poster