mrfearless47
Member
Awhile back I cloned my Windows VM to create a virtual sandbox. Yesterday, I created a brand new VM, four times the size of my original VM and clone, installed Windows XP and other software. When I was satisified that everything in the new VM was working properly, that all my data had been moved over properly, I deleted my clone "sandbox", leaving (I thought) the original VM in place should I ever need to go back and recover it. Today, just for grins and giggles, I attempted to open the original (too-small) VM and got a warning/error from Parallels telling me that it can't find the VM. Sure enough, I went into the directory where I store my VMs and there was but one VM, the new super large version. I don't regard this as a crisis since I can pull the old VM off a backup HD in less than 2 minutes. But my question is:
When cloning a VM, does Parallels actually create a duplicate of the original, or is there simply a pointer to the original put in so that deleting the clone kills the original and deletes the pointer?
If this is the case, Parallels REALLY ought to provide a warning when attempting to delete a cloned image.
When cloning a VM, does Parallels actually create a duplicate of the original, or is there simply a pointer to the original put in so that deleting the clone kills the original and deletes the pointer?
If this is the case, Parallels REALLY ought to provide a warning when attempting to delete a cloned image.