BSOD and then "Start in Safe Mode, Last Working Setting, etc."

kevinw

Hunter
Just started today. I've made no hardware software updates in months. Printer hung, had to close down Windows XP and restart. Using Parallels 5160 and when Windows restarted I get a quick BSOD (so fast I can't read it) and then the screen that offers to start in Safe Mode, Safe Mode w/Network,Last Working Configuration or Just start Normal.

When I start Normal it cycles through the same thing again.

If I select "Use last configuration that worked" it starts. Appears okay but when I restart same thing all over again.

So my questions are.

1. On my Windows it appears restore points are turned off so I don't know how this even worked. Is this something Parallels does on install?
2. I hate thinking every time I start I'm going to have to go through selecting the "Use last know working configuration" screen. How do I fix that permanently.
3. Is there any maintenance I should be performing on Windows? Disk Frag? etc.

Thanks for the help.
 
Hello,

please turn off your Parallels.
In the Finder, browse to the virtual machine folder (the default path is: Documents-Parallels-Virtual Machine).
Find and delete the ".sav" and ".mem" files in the virtual machine folder.
If you still have this problem please write me back.

Best regards,
Stacey
 
???

I close all the open windows applications, then close windows using the start button and when necessary close Parallels with the MAC exit file menu item or CMD Q.
 
Ok I did the repair and now I think I'm in bigger trouble. Now I get the attached BSOD and the "use last known working configuration" won't load Windows, it just returns to the BSOD. Now what?
 

Attachments

  • clip_image002.jpg
    clip_image002.jpg
    47.4 KB · Views: 1
Stacey

Okay, I assumed without your reply that I would have to re-install a new Virtual Volume so I have done so.

Questions:

1. What is the procedure to eliminate the old one? Just delete it from the MAC folder? Is there some sort of disk consolidation I should do then?

2. One side effect I noticed on the new installation is that when I minimize an application on the Guest OS to the MAC tray it only shows a small Parallels icon and not the Application icon like it use to. Is there a setting I have wrong?

Appreciate your help.
 
Hello,

1. If you want to delete your VM, please Launch Parallels Desktop and open the appropriate virtual machine. Then choose in menubar File -> Delete.

2. Please open the Configuration Editor of your VM (Edit -> Virtual Machine), 'Shared Application' tab. Choose 'Show in Dock' -> 'Always' there.

Best regards,
Stacey
 
Back
Top