Hi,
I'm working with Apple support to reinstall my operating system (macOS). I have Parallels Desktop 12 for Mac Pro Edition. I regularly use Time Machine to back up my MacBook Pro (Parallels is installed on my MacBook Pro). I have never used Smart Guard (a Parallels feature) and I have never specifically configured Parallels for any type of backup whatsoever. I just have a default installation of Parallels and use that all the time for my Windows 7 VM.
My question is this: Are my Parallels Virtual Machines backed up without specifically adjusting settings within Parallels? To be clear - I DO NOT have Smart Guard on (or any other setting pertaining to backing up with Time Machine).
I think the answer to my question is yes - simply because the entire VM is a sort of like a file or files on my Mac. But, I would not want to make a tragic mistake here and delete my VMs without realizing it until it's just too late.
Does anyone know?
Thanks,
David
I'm working with Apple support to reinstall my operating system (macOS). I have Parallels Desktop 12 for Mac Pro Edition. I regularly use Time Machine to back up my MacBook Pro (Parallels is installed on my MacBook Pro). I have never used Smart Guard (a Parallels feature) and I have never specifically configured Parallels for any type of backup whatsoever. I just have a default installation of Parallels and use that all the time for my Windows 7 VM.
My question is this: Are my Parallels Virtual Machines backed up without specifically adjusting settings within Parallels? To be clear - I DO NOT have Smart Guard on (or any other setting pertaining to backing up with Time Machine).
I think the answer to my question is yes - simply because the entire VM is a sort of like a file or files on my Mac. But, I would not want to make a tragic mistake here and delete my VMs without realizing it until it's just too late.
Does anyone know?
Thanks,
David