Cannot install Linux Mint 4.0 Daryna

Discussion in 'Linux Virtual Machine' started by mlle, Apr 29, 2008.

1. mlle

mlle Member

Does anybody have a clue please? I'm a Linux beginner.

I purchased a Linux Mint 4.0 Daryna CD, to avoid problems in downloading and burning.

I'm trying to install as follows:

I select Linux Ubuntu (I have also tried Linux 'other' with the same results)
    Install from CD / DVD

Everything appears to start well ans I get the Linux Mint installation screen. Then the top part of the screen goes fuzzy and I get a black screen with too much text to repeat.

Basically (I might have missed something important):

Fatal: error inserting battery: no such device
    Starting powernowd
    156: cannot create " a long string of a directory path" :directory non existant
    CPU frequency, scaling not supported

Display server shutdown 6 times. Waiting 2 minutes.

Can anybody help please?

2. mlle

mlle Member

Urgent

If nobody knows, then can anybody suggest which Linux will install easily. I don't need Parallel Tools. I only need a basic Linux installation with a Web browser.

Thanks. It's urgent, as I've been trying with Mint for too long.

3. Steeeve

Steeeve Junior Member

Mint 4.0 is based on Ubuntu 7.10 and I could never get ubuntu 7.10 to work originally.