CPU usage and performance

Discussion in 'Windows Virtual Machine' started by iaeon, Jun 15, 2007.

1. iaeon

iaeon Bit poster

I am new to Parallels and notice that the CPU usage with Parallels 3 is very high and that things are not always that speedy.

I have a new MacbookPro 2.4 / 2GB RAM and Parallels build 4128 - I get 130% or so CPU usage downloading a file with Internet Explorer on Windows Vista and 60% - 90% usage when 'idle' (not doing anything at all with Parallels though the Windows VM is still running. About 6% of CPU time is still used up by Parallels when the VM is paused.

As laptops get hot and noisy when very busy this is a bit of an issue.

Could anyone suggest any measures to minimise CPU usage and improve performance?

Reviews of Parallels are what convinced me to buy a macbook for the first time. Unfortunatly I need to use Windows apps quite a bit and wanted to avoid boot camp. Not sure at this stage if Parallels V3 is something I can use as a primary workspace however...

Last edited: Jun 15, 2007
  2. wingdo

wingdo Pro

Are you able to run your programs from XP SP2? I think you'd get MUCH better performance out of XP if you can use it. Vista is a bloated pig, and i have downgraded my real PC back to XP.

There are other options you can try such as setting the performance to "VM" from "OS X" as well as tweaking memory settings a bit. You can also disable Direct3D if you do not need it. Parallels runs ok on my MBP, but I am using XP SP2 and have more than enough RAM for it. With XP you can allocate 512 or 768MB RAM to the VM and still have plenty of RAM for OS X to run nicely.

3. iaeon

iaeon Bit poster

I could buy another copy of XP I guess... Seems a retrograde step but perhaps worth it is performance woould be better. What sort of CPU usage do you get on XP when idle?

Thanks for the tweaking tipes - I'll play about a bit and see if that makes a difference.

4. iaeon

iaeon Bit poster