Home and End keys not working in Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Installation and Configuration of Parallels Desktop' started by KendallB, Dec 14, 2012.

1. KendallB

KendallB Member

I finally just purchased Parallels 8 to upgrade my Parallels 7 setup, as the issues I had before with odd key mappings for keys like Cmd-H are now fixed. Thanks!

Alas as soon as I started to actually use it, I discovered some more problems. It seems that for some reason the Home and End keys on the extended Mac keyboard are not working correctly in Windows 7 under Parallels? The home key does nothing, and the end key appears to bring up some kind of right click content menu? Normally these used to work just fine in Parallels 7 (as far as I can tell; I have been using VMware for the last six months due to the issues with key mappings in 7).

Any idea why this is happening and how to fix it? I am back to VMware for now, but I would like to go back to running Parallels again if I can.

2. KendallB

KendallB Member

Well clearly nobody in support is reading this forum. Oddly, the home/end keys work just fine on my VM at home on my MacBook Pro. Same basic configuration, but the VM at work and at home have evolved over time separately. So they are not identical.

However yesterday I noticed that Alt-T (or Cmd-T which should map to Alt-T) is not working properly on my home VM! WTF.

Clearly there are some really strange keyboard mapping problems with Parallels 8. So this new version is another step forward and two steps backwards. Back to VMware for a while again I guess, hoping a patch update will come out to fix this ... one day I will probably just give up and stick with VMware forever and never come back.

3. Andrew@Parallels

Andrew@Parallels Parallels Team

Guys, in order to provide you with proper solution, we need some details:
    1. In what view modes does this issue happen? Is this behavior the same in Coherence/Window/Full Screen modes?