Is there a Linux distro in which Parallels Tools runs at all?

Discussion in 'Linux Guest OS Discussion' started by maikol, Dec 7, 2008.

  1. maikol

    maikol

    Messages:
    3
    Hello,

    I have bought Parallels Desktop 3 at the beginning of 2008 when I got myself a MacBookPro.

    It seems to work fine with Windows XP; however, with Linux the Parallels Tools add on does not seem to install.
    I have tried a bunch of distros such a Kubuntu (total desaster), Debian, Ubuntu and now Fedora 10 - each in their newest built - to no avail.
    So my question: Is there any Linux distro (or even workarounds) with which PD3 Tools does work so that I can at least change the screen resolution and/or maybe use my mouse on both the MAC and the virtual Linux OS without having to press the more than anoying Ctrl+Alt - combination? Or do I have to upgrade PD3 to PD4.

    Thanx for your help
    M
     
  2. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels

    Messages:
    6,360
    I have answered in another thread please check
     
  3. mojo6771

    mojo6771

    Messages:
    13
    I am a long term mac user and a long term linux developer so used both for a long time.

    My experience with parallels is pretty limited (less than one month) after I bought the mac book pro.

    My experience so far:
    - parallels 3 worked well with ubuntu 8.10. (but no full screen since parallel tools did not work..)
    - parallels 4 with parallels tools is beautiful. I love the full screen mode and the sharing of folders etc..BUT
    ubuntu hangs after some usage. Usually after a few hours or sometimes just within few minutes. v
     
  4. Anna Pichueva

    Anna Pichueva Parallels Team

    Messages:
    74
    Could you please send us a problem report?
    1) Start Parallels Desktop 2) In
    the top Parallels Desktop menu choose 'Help' > 'Report a
    Problem' 3) Enter your description of the problem, Name
    and Contact E-mail 4) Click 'Send Report' 5) After
    clicking "Send Report' you will get window with the
    message 'Your problem report has been sent to the
    Parallels Support team with id XXXXX.' 6) Please remember
    this ID and send it to us in the reply to this e-mail.
     
  5. mojo6771

    mojo6771

    Messages:
    13
    Thank you for the reply... I have created a ticket
    "Your problem report has been sent to the Parallels Support team with id 21271."
    In the screen shots I have vmstat running in one terminal and tail of /var/log/messages
    at the point when the guest OS was hung.

    I then restarted the guest OS and then looked at /var/log/messages
    and here is what we see the last message --MARK-- at 00:54:53 and nothing after it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2008
  6. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels

    Messages:
    6,360
    The log shows that you have Parallels Tools installed from build 3522
    Please install from build 3540
     
  7. mojo6771

    mojo6771

    Messages:
    13
    I am pretty sure I am on build 3540. (atleast from what Parallels reports to me)

    I did About Parallels and it shows build 3540 (Nov 22, 2008).
    I have also running Check for Updates every day since I have had this problem hoping for the later update
    to address this issue. It has reported everyday for the past 2 weeks that it is upto date.

    Where in the logs does it show build 3522?
     
  8. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels

    Messages:
    6,360
    Parallels Tools in Ubuntu are showing version 3522
     
  9. mojo6771

    mojo6771

    Messages:
    13
    If I understand the messages then the parallels version I am using is 3540
    but the parallel tools version is 3522.

    So when one updates parallels one should always update parallel tools also?
    I have done that and lets wait and see if it helps..Now the logs show Parallel tools to be at 3540.
     
  10. mojo6771

    mojo6771

    Messages:
    13
    It still hangs. created new ticket 22263.

    <ToolId>parallels.ToolsDaemon.guest.lin</ToolId>
    <ToolName>Parallels Tools Daemon</ToolName>
    <ToolVersion>4.0.3540.209162</ToolVersion>
    <ToolInternalVersion>1.0</ToolInternalVersion>


    -------
     
  11. murphy

    murphy

    Messages:
    64
    Yes, parallels tools must always be updated.
     
  12. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels

    Messages:
    6,360
    That's it, I submitted case to developers
     

Share This Page