Issue with French azerty MacBook Pro (with touchbar)

Discussion in 'Parallels Client for Mac' started by RenaudT1, Jun 29, 2018.

  1. RenaudT1

    RenaudT1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Hello,

    I use Parallels Client for Mac for standard RDP connections to Windows servers. It works almost perfectly but I have some issues with my french azerty macbook keyboard.

    I can't do curly braces, brackets, pipes, ... These characters are inputed with a key combination which include Option (Alt).
    For example, curly braces "{}" are typed with Alt+5 and Alt+) on a French azerty macbook.
    For brackets "[]", it's Alt+Shift+5 and Alt+Shift+).
    For pipe "|", it's Alt+Shift+L.
    For anti slash "\", it's Alt+Shift+/.

    All theses combinations don't work on Windows with Parallels Client.

    Can you tell me if it's a bug or if there is a workaround ?

    Thanks in advance for your time.

    Regards,

    Renaud Thoraval

    Parallels Client for Mac 16.2.3
    MacOS High Sierra 10.13.5
    Remote connections on Windows Server 2016 and 2012
     
  2. jpc

    jpc Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    296
    @RenaudT1
    From your description, it looks like the MacBook keyboard's keys are not all mapped to their Windows equivalents.

    Until this issue is fixed, the only workaround I can suggest is to press Ctrl + Alt + one of the Window's equivalents as shown below (for reference, I have overlayed the top row of the normal macOS azerty keyboard).

    upload_2018-7-4_12-2-21.png
     
  3. RenaudT1

    RenaudT1 Bit Poster

    Messages:
    2
    Thank you for your answer. I've found this workaround while trying all possible combinations in a remote session. It works but since it's not the same shortcut as under Mac OS, I regularly mistype some characters :( It's not as convenient as having exactly the same keyboard layout everywhere...
    I'll wait and hope that Parallels Client will be fixed and supports French azerty MacBook Pro keyboard layout :) (Unfortunately, I think I will never see it :D )

    Anyway, thank you for your time !

    Regard,

    Renaud
     
  4. MarcelZ

    MarcelZ Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    Same Problem here on a 2015 MBP with Parallels Client Version 16.5.3 and German Layout.

    The Button "AltGr" is not mapped to the Client System (Windows 2016) as expected. I'd expect the right "ALT" Key mapped to "AltGr"...

    The only possibility to type in a Pipe Character is a combination of "CTRL, ALT + ^". Characters like <> also won't work as expected. Sadly this fact makes the use for a C# Programmer almost impossible.
     
  5. jpc

    jpc Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    296
  6. MarcelZ

    MarcelZ Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    Hi,

    Keyboard Mapping has still issues. What I expect is behaviour like in Parallels Desktop for MAC. For comparison I made 2 Screenshots with Identical scenarios.

    One Screenshot showing the Keyboard behaviour in Paralles Desktop using a notepad window and German layout on a Server 2012 R2 System.
    Other Screenshot showing the Keyboard behaviour in Parallels Client using a notepad window and German layout on an other Server 2012 R2 System.

    regards,
    marcel

    Parallels Client 16.5.3.png Parallels Desktop 14.1.3.png
     
  7. MarcelZ

    MarcelZ Bit Poster

    Messages:
    3
    Any Update to this?
    @jpc Can you confirm the bug?
     
  8. jpc

    jpc Kilo Poster

    Messages:
    296
    @MarcelZ From the screenshot, I can see that the remote server is using the German keyboard layout.
    Do you have the same keyboard layout setup on your mac?

    In order to provide a native-like experience, the mac client follows the native mac keyboard layout during an RDP session. This means that you should use the mac's keyboard layout not the windows' keyboard layout on the remote session. For example, on the German Apple keyboard: "{" = Alt + 8, "}" = Alt + 9., "[" = Alt + 5, "]" = Alt + 6

    Also, to get the best experience ensure that the server and client side keyboard layouts match.
     

Share This Page