Launching Problem!

Discussion in 'Parallels Website and Forum' started by climber83, Aug 12, 2008.

1. climber83

climber83 Bit poster

Parallels is a wonderful product that I am having a very difficult time using. I have probably spent over $200.00 trying to get it to work and I am not being very successful at it. It worked for about 7 days and now whenever I try to launch the application it says that there was an unexpected problem, and was forced to close down. I am given three options: ignore, report, or relaunch. The program will not relaunch even after restarting and rebooting the computer (that used to work) and I am getting very frustrated with this product. If anyone can help me solve my problem it would be most appreciated.

2. John@Parallels

John@Parallels Forum Maven

Do you have Display Link drivers installed?

3. macneebie

macneebie Bit poster

Same problem - error in launching

I've been a PC software developer for many, many years and decided to but a mac book recently. So I am completely new at this.

i just installed parallels as well and I keep getting the same error as climber83.

How do I install Display Link drivers?

4. John@Parallels

No, Display Link drivers can prevent Parallels to start
    I need details a bellow:

* Parallels Desktop version and build: Parallels Desktop- -> About Parallels Desktop
    a copy of /home/<username>/Documents/Parallels/<VM name>/<GuestVM>.pvs
    * Archive of /Library/Parallels/bugreports/ (right click on folder --> Create Archive)
    or ~/Library/Parallels/bugreports/

* /Library/Logs/panic.log
    or ~/Library/Logs/CrashReporter/Parallels.crash.log from the Mac side;

5. macneebie

macneebie Bit poster

i could not find the panic log but copied and pasted what was in the error report (see crash file).

attached is the bug reports zip file as well

Attached Files:

6. John@Parallels

Process: Parallels [149]
    Path: /Applications/Parallels/Parallels Desktop.app/Contents/MacOS/Parallels